Top Ten Tuesday • Books I Really Want To Read But Don’t Own Yet

top ten tuesday bannerTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/feature hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

Top Ten Books I Really Want To Read But Don’t Own Yet

It wasn’t easy, but I managed to limit myself to five books who haven’t been released yet. Probably the only advantage of being an adult is that I have a kindle and a credit card and I’m not afraid to use them. There’s plenty of books I don’t own, but if I really really want to read a book, I’m getting that book.

Le ombre della Senna (Sherlock, Lupin & Me #6) by Irene Adler Downton Abbey: The Complete Scripts Season Two by Julian Fellowes Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
Le ombre della Senna (Sherlock, Lupin & Me #6) by Irene Adler
Downton Abbey: The Complete Scripts Season Two by Julian Fellowes
Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

The Irene Adler book doesn’t have an ebook edition, and I haven’t passed by the bookstore in a while. I want the Downton Abbey scripts, because the first two seasons of the show were excellent, but I’m not sure I feel like supporting a franchise that’s been steadily disappointing me for the past year. Ready Player One is the newest addition to my TBR.

The Sands of Time (Hermux Tantamoq Adventures #2) by Michael Hoeye A Coal Miner's Bride by Susan Campbell Bartoletti
The Sands of Time (Hermux Tantamoq Adventures #2) by Michael Hoeye
A Coal Miner’s Bride (Dear America series) by Susan Campbell Bartoletti

The problem here is that those books are kinda old and difficult to find. Or I’d have to get them shipped from the US, paying twice as much for shipping than for the book, which bugs me. I have #1 and #3 of the Hermux books, courtesy of some scatterbrained relative who gave them to my brother for Christmas years ago, and they were fun reads. I’d like to find out the rest of the story. The Dear America series is a recent find, I haven’t read much historical fiction set in the US and the books are surprisingly deep for middle grade novels. I’ve been reading the ebook reprint so far, picking the historical periods I’m most interested in, and I’m sad that this particular book hasn’t been reprinted since a few people say it’s their favourite.

The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place by Julie Berry Arsenic For Tea (Wells and Wong #2) by Robin Stevens Who Buries the Dead (Sebastian St. Cyr #10) by C.S. Harris
The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place by Julie Berry
Arsenic For Tea (Wells and Wong #2) by Robin Stevens
Who Buries the Dead (Sebastian St. Cyr #10) by C.S. Harris

I’ve been looking forward to The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place since I saw it, and it’s coming out next month finally! I hope it’ll be as good as the first Wells and Wong book, whose sequel should be released in January. Murder mysteries and boarding schools are an awesome combo. And, speaking of murders, Who Buries the Dead will be out in March: it’s the longest mystery series I’m still reading, but the character development really makes it worthwhile and I can’t wait to read what’ll happen next.

Winter (Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer Captive Prince: Volume Three (Captive Prince #3) by C.S. Pacat
Winter (Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer
Captive Prince: Volume Three (Captive Prince #3) by C.S. Pacat

And finally, the books that are so far from publication that the covers are just mockups (sob sob). They’re the final book in their respective series and I need them yesterday! Winter should have been released in early 2015 but that got moved to November 2015 because Marissa Meyer wants to release her other book first and I’m just sitting here and despairing because I need to know how it ends I need to know everyone will be okay. I have no idea when Captive Prince #3 will be out and that physically pains me.

Which books do you want to read but don’t own yet?
Ren

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday • Books I Really Want To Read But Don’t Own Yet

  1. Some really interesting and different reads I’ve never heard of here! It’s a great take on today’s topic as it usually focuses more on modern talked-about reads.

    I especially loved, “Probably the only advantage of being an adult is that I have a kindle and a credit card and I’m not afraid to use them.” I wanted to cheer and whoop to this, because sometimes it does feel like one of the only perks of adulthood (we were lied to!!) and it always puts a smile on my face that I can order what I like from the bookstore and squeal (on the inside) when it arrives!

    My TTT: http://confessionsofabookgeek.wordpress.com/2014/08/26/top-ten-tuesday-books-i-cant-wait-to-read-but-dont-own-yet/

  2. Well, I’m glad to see I’m not the only one who hasn’t read Ready Player One (even though I feel like it’s taboo for me not to have read it being a gamer myself aha). But that definitely sucks when some novels are difficult to find and would have to be shipped overseas (I also have a strong distaste for customs tax and shipping fees) and it’s potentially a double whammy if there’s no ebook alternative for them too.

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

  3. *eyes open extremely wide* OMG, you read the Sebastian St. Cyr series?!?! OMG. Dude. That is legitimately my favorite series ever and I’ve been pushing it on all my blogging friends for years but it’s never happened. You’re legitimately the first person I met who’s read it! FRIENDZIES!!!

    Sorry. Hi, I’m Renae. I like C.S. Harris. ;)

    • Sebastian St. Cyr is AWESOME, I’m re-reading When Gods Die now and it’s just as good as the first time, if not more because I know about everyone’s backstory. It is a bit hard to get people into a long series, though, everyone looks at the number of books published and runs away. And of course the series has ruined me for all other historical murder novels (minus maybe Kate Ross).

  4. Pingback: What’s Up Buttercup • September Edition | Words in a Teacup

Leave a Comment