Top Ten Tuesday • Books I Want To Reread

top ten tuesday bannerTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/feature hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

Top Ten Books I Want To Reread

Harry Potter 1. Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling
Because I always want to reread Harry Potter. I used to read all of the old books when a new one came out, which means I read Philosopher’s Stone dozens of times but Deathly Hallows only once. I tried to reread them all a while back but I only got up to Prisoner of Azkaban before getting distracted. Rereading all of Harry Potter is tough, as Isa knows well.
A Song of Ice and Fire 2. A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin
Even less likely than Harry Potter. I might eventually reread this when The Winds of Winter comes out, if only because it’s been so long I’ve forgotten half of the plot threads.
Discworld series 3. Discworld series by Terry Pratchett
I love this one, but with 30+ books it will take me a while. Usually I just reread Monstrous Regiment, which is my favourite and also a standalone, so I’ve quite forgotten what happens in the other books. It would be interesting to go back to the very start, though.
Good Omens 4. Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman
If my sister hasn’t stolen it. This one’s easy, I’m definitely going to reread Good Omens every couple of year because it’s one of those books I’ll never get tired of.
Red Seas Under Red Skies 5. Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch
Every time I try to reread this book I just go and reread The Lies of Locke Lamora instead. It’s like a curse. Red Seas isn’t bad, but I just love Lies so much! And I’m scared to read the third book because terrible things will most likely happen to the characters, so I’m stuck rereading the first book, in which terrible things still happen but at least I know about those in advance.
Know Not Why 6. Know Not Why by Hannah Johnson
Another of the “must reread once a year” books. I’ll save it for a rainy day, because it’s just adorable and always warms me up from the inside of my cold frozen heart.
Temeraire series 7. Temeraire series by Naomi Novik
Like with the Scott Lynch books, I started rereading this series but didn’t make much headway. I’ve got to reread the first books if I want to find out what happens to Granby in the newest book, though, so sooner or later I’ll get around to them.
Sandokan 8. All of Emilio Salgari‘s Corsairs books and Sandokan books
I’m sure they will be quite terrible but they’re my childhood. Unfortunately my paperbacks are literally sellotaped together and I’m not sure I’ll find an ebook version. I’m not sure I even want an ebook version, I like my cheap paperbacks with the footnotes explaining about how Salgari basically didn’t research anything and just made up stuff. But the paperbacks are falling apart, so it’s a vicious circle.
Captive Prince 9. Captive Prince by C.S. Pacat
Except the author is still finishing the third book and if I reread the first two now it’ll be painful because I’ll be left with the cliffhanger. It’s not a really awful cliffhanger, but still…
Keeping the Castle 10. Keeping the Castle by Patrice Kindl
I’ve read it only a few months ago but it’s such an adorable book, I think it’s be another book I’ll reread again and again. I liked the light-heartedness and the humour.

Do you reread books? Which series would you reread?

Ren

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday • Books I Want To Reread

  1. HP and ASOIAF made my list as well but I’m waiting ASOIAF until the series is finished if it ever is. The Gentleman Bastards series would also make a good re-read!

  2. I definitely want to re-read HP, and maybe ASOIAF one day too. I started re-reading that one when the series first started, but most of books 4 and 5 I’ve already forgotten again.

    I loved Red Seas even more than Lies, I think. The tragedy in Lies hit me out of nowhere, I never saw anything like that coming. In Red Seas I was somewhat prepared. Go read Republic of Thieves! I need to know your thoughts. XD

  3. Pingback: What’s Up Buttercup • November Edition | Words in a Teacup

Leave a Comment

