Quickfire Reviews • High-Heeled Wonder, The Little Lady Agency, Wintersmith

Quickfire Reviews
Sometimes, we read a book but don’t have much to say about it. Quickfire Reviews is a feature in which we share our thoughts about those books.

WintersmithAvengers vs X-Men badgeTitle: Wintersmith (Discworld #35)
Author: Terry Pratchett
Published: October 1st, 2006
Rating: 3 out of 5 teacups
Find it at: amazonbarnesandnoblebookdepositorygoodreads

The third Tiffany Aching book. I think my main issue with this series is that the books are too similar to each other. I didn’t immediately write a review of Wintersmith because I wasn’t sure of what I could have said that wasn’t a repeat of what I already said about the other two books. The other Discworld books don’t suffer from this problem — for example, I read them years ago and they both feature the city guards, but I remember Feet of Clay and Men at Arms have very distinct plots. Wintersmith isn’t a bad book, and I like the evolution of Tiffany’s character, but the plot is a bit wishy-washy and forgettable. (Of course, any “average” book by Pratchett is still very good.)

High-Heeled WonderTitle: High-Heeled Wonder
Author: Avery Flynn
Published: January 27th, 2014
Rating: 2.5 out of 5 teacups
Find it at: amazonbarnesandnoblegoodreads

I was quite prepared to like this book, but the ending was kind of a mess. Without going into spoiler territory, there were a couple of reveals that didn’t make sense and created plot holes. Other plot points were also dropped completely, like when Tony plants a bug in a suspect’s office and then the bug is never mentioned again. Also, there was a lot of confusion with POVs: it kept skipping back and forth even in the sex scene and I was never sure of what POV I was reading. Pros are that it was a quick and easy read, I liked the fashion quotes at the start of each chapter, and I liked Sylvie’s bulldog attitude. But I think I’ll remember her as The Heroine With Perpetually Hard Nipples because that was her other defining trait. I might have been interested in another book about Drea or Carlos, but that’s not the case so I’ll pass on the next instalment.

The Little Lady AgencyTitle: The Little Lady Agency
Author: Hester Browne
Published: June 6th, 2005
Rating: 2.5 out of 5 teacups
Find it at: amazonbarnesandnoblebookdepositorygoodreads

The book on which me and Isa disagreed! To be honest, it’s not that I disliked it. I would have enjoyed it immensely, if it wasn’t for one character: Melissa’s emotionally abusive father is the most disgusting asshole I read about in a very long time. I don’t like to read about characters being pushed around, unless there’s some kind of resolution at the end, and there very much wasn’t one. In the end, Melissa’s father walks all over her, holds her debt over her head to get her to organize her sister’s wedding single-handedly and for free, gets her to pay back the debt, and as a thank you he calls her a whore in public. I don’t read much chick lit but I thought this would be a cute read, not something that made me literally cry in frustration at the end. I did like Melissa (despite her naiveté) and her friends and the American love interest and her wardrobe, but I wish she’d have stood up for herself.

Ren

One thought on “Quickfire Reviews • High-Heeled Wonder, The Little Lady Agency, Wintersmith

  1. But I think I’ll remember her as The Heroine With Perpetually Hard Nipples because that was her other defining trait.

    Okay, that line nearly made me spit my tea out everywhere while laughing. Definitely not the book for me, neither is the last one.

    However, I did read Wintersmith a while back and I agree that the plot felt a bit… Lacking. Especially when compared to Pratchett’s other books. I like Tiffany, but not enough to really like the book itself. :(

Leave a Comment

