Pick-For-Me • September

Pick For Me

Pick-For-Me is a monthly feature where each of us picks two books for the other to read. Click here for details.


August Thoughts

August Picks

Isa: This month was so hectic with my new apprenticeship and everything that I only got around to reading one of Ren’s picks — The Little Lady Agency. Unfortunately I didn’t get around to writing a review and I probably won’t do so in the future either. Ren and I were going to review it together, because I really really liked it and Ren actually didn’t and we wanted to share our thoughts on it. However, time is just not on our side this month and it’s not going to happen. I did start reading her second pick as well but I’m not sure if I’m going to continue. It’s not some awful DNF but idk the main character isn’t very relatable and I don’t really like her or the others in the book. I think maybe Harris’ writing isn’t for me because I struggled similarly with the Sookie Stackhouse series.

Ren: Unfortunately, The Friday Society was a DNF for me. The first sentence is: “And then there was an explosion. It was loud. It was bright. It was very explosion-y.” The writing just goes downhill from there. It’s like the author tried too hard to be funny, and ended up with something that isn’t funny at all, and is actually painful to read. I don’t have a good excuse like Isa (I’m still unemployed and it’s not like I was job hunting this month because everything is closed down in August) but I haven’t finished reading the second book either. I’m slogging through it because the writing is kind of meh and the characters are just sitting around and angsting instead of getting anything done.

Goodreads Links:
Grave SightThe Little Lady AgencyThe HeiressesThe Friday Society


September Picks

Ren for Isa

Rivers of London Austenland

On Goodreads:
Rivers of LondonAustenland

Ren: I’ve had my eye on Rivers of London for a while because the cover is absolutely gorgeous, so I’m curious if it’ll live up to the expectation. Austenland is Shannon Hale doing Jane Austen, and I’m hoping Isa will like it since she’s enjoying chick lit lately. Hopefully it’ll keep her mind away from work for a while!


Isa for Ren

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray The Princess Curse by Merrie Haskell

On Goodreads:
A Thousand Pieces of YouThe Princess Curse

Isa: As is often the case, I went by shiny covers. I know you like a bit of fantasy, so I hope The Princess Curse works in our favour on that one. As for the other one, I am really intrigued by the parallel universe bit of the summary, so I hope it’s good. :D


Are you also doing the pick-for-me challenge with a friend or over at Amy’s LJ community? What do you think of our picks this month? Let us know in the comments!
Isa and Ren

One thought on “Pick-For-Me • September

  1. Pingback: What’s Up Buttercup • September Edition | Words in a Teacup

Leave a Comment

