What’s Up Buttercup • August Edition

What's Up, Buttercup?
What’s Up Buttercup is an overview of the past, present and future here on Words in a Teacup, posted around the middle of the month.

 

What's Been Going On:

  • First, a quick housekeeping notice: our review policy has been updated with more details about what we will and what we won’t accept for review. We’re flattered by all the requests, but we can’t read everything and some requests are completely outside our interests. We apologize if you contacted us in the last couple of weeks and didn’t receive a reply, hopefully the new policy is much more clear and will save time for everyone.
  • You might have noticed that we are not doing Thoughtful Thursday any more — Isa found it difficult to write for it every week, and her apprenticeship has crazy long hours (well, not so much long as bloody early… she gets up at 2:50am) so she’d rather be asleep in her spare time than thoughtful! We’re both thinking about new features to break the monotony of reviews, but for the time being the blog will be a little sparse.
  • Isa started Harry Potter In A Teacup, a new feature in which she discusses her re-read of the Harry Potter series. So far she’s talked about being introduced to the series for the first time, about the way Hogwarts contacts students (which must be pretty confusing for Muggleborns!) and about her thoughts on the sorting process.
  • Isa and Ren chose the books for this month’s Pick-For-Me and started reading at once! Isa really liked The Little Lady Agency so Ren also read it, but she wasn’t quite so enthusiastic about it, so there’s going to be a joint review in the future with split opinions. Ren unfortunately DNF’d one of the books but she’s reading the second book now, as is Isa.
  • Ren posted about the authors she owns the most books from — she has a lot of books! But lest anyone think that she’s a serious bookworm, in the same post she also listed ten characters she’d bring with her on a deserted island, choosing purely based on the hotness factor.
  • Prompted by a family friend, Ren listed ten books she’d give to kids who don’t like to read.
  • Ren whined a lot about books she’s not sure she wants to read.

 

Recently Reviewed

The Nightmare Affair by Mindee Arnett Graceling by Kristin Cashore Falling From The Sky by Nikki Godwin Panic by Lauren Oliver Since You’ve Been Gone by Anouska Knight
Allegiant by Veronica Roth Havemercy by Jaida Jones & Danielle Bennett The Lotus Palace by Jeannie Lin To Be or Not To Be by Ryan North

 

 

Recently Acquired:
Covers of books Ren just gotRen: I’ve got a bunch of review copies this month! Angela Misri asked us if we’d read her Sherlock Holmes-inspired books and of course I said yes — silhouette covers are my kryptonite. (Kidding. I liked the premise. But also I really liked the silhouette cover.) And I requested two books from NetGalley, because I thought one of the publishers would turn me down, but I got both books so the dilemma now is what do I start with??

Goodreads Links:
Jewel of the Thames • Circus of the Damned • Black Dog

Isa: I didn’t acquire anything lately aside from the constant feeling of zombieness due to my new job. The hours, you guys. I chose this but by god I’ve done four early shifts (which means I get up at 2:50am so I can be at work by 4:15) last week, four this week (tomorrow included) and then again on Monday. I just want to sleeeeeeeeeeeep forever. Thus the whole reading shindig is on ice for a bit. I barely get around to reading Harry Potter as it is, though I do wish I could read more. But by the time I get home I either have to go to bed after a late shift or really want to go to bed after my early shifts, but I can’t because naps are evil. (I love naps. If only they weren’t evil.)

 

 

Coming Up Soon:

Upcoming Reviews
The Dark Tide The Little Lady Agency High-heeled Wonder Grave Sight

That’s it for this month, buttercups. What’s going on with you? Feel free to share in the comments, we’d love to hear from you!
Isa and Ren

3 thoughts on “What’s Up Buttercup • August Edition

  1. Okay so I am ever so slightly in love with your blog right now. (I found it via Ren’s guest post on Oh, the Books!)

    Everything about your blog is SO adorable and just… can I steal your entire blog already?! ve just stalked, like, all your posts & Harry Potter In A Teacup IS AMAZING. Also, silhouette covers are my kryptonite too – have you seen the cover for The Night Circus?! Hands down my favourite EVER cover.

    And 100% agree about naps being evil. So tempting, but so evil.

    Anyways, sorry for this little ramble (I have a habit of making totally over enthusiastic first impressions) but I’m just a tad in love with your blog right now hehe. :)

    • Thank you so much for your lovely comment! I’m very happy to see that Ren’s guest post enticed a bunch of people to drop by. She’s a marvellous writer and blogger, I’m very glad she’s so invested.

      Ahhh, and I am very happy to hear your thoughts on HP in a Teacup (even though I am now a week behind because real life got unexpectedly exhausting). :D I wish I had more time for reading at the moment and also a way of napping that doesn’t leave me even more exhausted but then wide awake when it’s bedtime. ^^

      I really do love your comment, it totally made my day. :D :D Be as enthusiastic as you like, I absolutely love it. (I myself am either overly shy or overly enthusiastic on first impressions. Or completely incapable of human contact without making a fool of myself. So I feel you.)

    • Aaah I totally missed this comment until now (why???) but don’t worry, we love enthusiasm! And we even have a feature called random rambles so your rambling is welcome here. :D You’re not allowed to steal Isa though, I saw her first and I’m keeping her!

      The cover of The Night Circus is awesome, it makes me want to read the book even though I know I wouldn’t be interested. But aaah it’s so awesome!

Leave a Comment

