Top Ten Tuesday • Books I’d Give To Kids Who Don’t Read

top ten tuesday bannerTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/feature hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

Top Ten Books I’d Give To Kids Who Don’t Read

I’m changing this week’s theme a little because I had my mum ask me this question just a few days ago, a colleague of hers has a daughter in middle school and she wanted some recs. So here’s an edited list of Very Important formative reading.

The Ballad of Lucy Whipple by Karen Cushman The Midwife's Apprentice by Karen Cushman Ronia, the Robber's Daughter by Astrid Lindgren Pippi Longstocking by Astrid Lindgren
The Ballad of Lucy Whipple & The Midwife’s Apprentice by Karen Cushman
Ronia, the Robber’s Daughter & Pippi Longstocking by Astrid Lindgren

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli Princess Academy by Shannon Hale
Little Women by Louisa May Alcott • Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh
Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli • Princess Academy by Shannon Hale

Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer Wolf Brother by Michelle Paver
Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer • Wolf Brother by Michelle Paver

Oh, right… and Harry Potter isn’t on the list because this girl had already read it, it would have been an obvious rec otherwise.

What are your recs? Any important book that I missed?
Ren

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday • Books I’d Give To Kids Who Don’t Read

  1. I love Loiusa May Alcott’s Little Women. I have several cover editions of the book. I love that your list have the FOWL and Chronicles of Darkness series. Both are somewhere there in my all time favorites. Both have well rounded characters and awesome world building. I really wished they’d push through with a movie. I really want to see Arty, Holly, and Torak on screen.

    Yes, do try HP. There’s nothing I can say that has not been said already so there. I’d like to add Alif the Unseen (G. Wilson) and the EMBER series by Jeanne DuPrau. DuPrau had a way of incorporating important messages in her stories and it was well written too.

  2. I think the only books I remember reading in middle-grade (albeit, not remembering how good they were) involved the likes of Goosebumps and Animorphs. I think people were also into Nancy Drew and stuff like that? -shrug- Can’t say I’ve read much during those years so it’s neat that you’re passing on the torch to the next generation!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

  3. Pingback: What’s Up Buttercup • August Edition | Words in a Teacup

Leave a Comment

