[Ren] Allegiant (Divergent #3) by Veronica Roth

Allegiant (Divergent #3) by Veronica RothPick For Me badgeTitle: Allegiant (Divergent #3)
Author: Veronica Roth
Published: March 18th, 2013
Rating: DNF at 25%
Find it at: amazonbarnesandnoblebookdepositorygoodreads

I tried. The first two books in the series were entertaining enough, there were some bad young adult tropes but they were an easy read as long as I suspended my disbelief about the ludicrous factions system. I thought “whatever, it’s just the way this crazy world is” and kept reading. The problem is that as soon as the book explained to me when the factions were formed and why, I laughed and abandoned the book.

The problem is that Veronica Roth wrote herself in a corner with the factions. There was no way to rationalize a system with that many flaws. The logical thing to do would have been to just ignore it and go with the story, focusing on the conflict between the factionless and the allegiant. Lots of successful books and movies have a basic premise that doesn’t make a lot of sense, but that doesn’t matter much if the story is compelling. Unfortunately, not only the “explanation” of the factions made no sense, it also turned the book into a dead bore.

This is the third book already, so I would expect that most of the worldbuilding and character building has already been done (even though the world makes no sense and the characters are two-dimensional) and that the book would deal with solving all of the pending conflicts. Right? Wrong. Instead, the book just stops all action for a bunch of chapters, and literally sits down Tris and her friends to explain how factions work. It’s the clumsiest plot dump ever, it makes no sense, and it killed any interest I might have in finding out what happens next.

Why should I sit through I don’t know how many more chapters of new characters talking about what a great idea the factions are (they aren’t), and of Tris being stupidly noble (or nobly stupid, or just stupid), and of Four turning into a useless copy of Tris (down to the fact that his POV is indistinguishable from Tris)? Oh, right, because I wanted to find out whether Four dies at the end like I thought he would since the first book. Well, I asked Isa about that, and then she linked me to a review that told me real quick what happened at the end. It sounded completely ridiculous and I don’t regret cutting my losses and giving up on this book.
Ren

One thought on “[Ren] Allegiant (Divergent #3) by Veronica Roth

  1. I agree with you so much! While I enjoyed the first 2 books this one was just awful. And I don’t think that just because of how the main character ended up, but how the story just completely derailed. And the dual POV just didn’t work at all.

Leave a Comment

