Pick-For-Me • August

Pick For Me

Pick-For-Me is a monthly feature where each of us picks two books for the other to read. Click here for details.


July Thoughts

Jule Picks

Isa: Ren was pretty lucky this month with her picks for me! I liked both books. :D In fact, I really loved Graceling which was very compelling and a super quick read for me despite the length. The Nightmare Affair wasn’t as awesome but still alright. The paranormal bits were pretty cool but I didn’t really dig the slights against ~nerds.

Ren: Isa wasn’t quite as lucky… I couldn’t get into Allegiant at all, the ~big plot revelations~ made no sense and the characters were boring. I did read quite a bit of it before giving up, though, so I’ll be posting my thoughts on it very soon. As for Havemercy, I’m still reading it. It’s slow going, because from the cover and the summary I was expecting MAGICAL MECHA DRAGONS and so far there isn’t any. The lack of magical mecha dragons is hampering my enjoyment of the book.

Goodreads Links:
The Nightmare AffairGracelingAllegiantHavemercy


August Picks

Ren for Isa

Grave Sight by Charlaine Harris The Little Lady Agency by Hester Browne

On Goodreads:
Grave SightThe Little Lady Agency

Ren: The Little Lady Agency has such an interesting premise and glowing reviews that I’m tempted to read it myself. I hope it won’t disappoint! I’m not so sure about Grave Sight, paranormal romances have a good chance of being terrible, but the cover grabbed my eye and if the book is a trainwreck there’s always the chance that it’ll be an entertaining one.


Isa for Ren

The Heiresses by Sara Shepard The Friday Society by Adrienne Kress

On Goodreads:
The HeiressesThe Friday Society

Isa: New approach this time: I’ll just go by shiny covers that caught my eye, maybe that’ll bring you back from your reading slump, darling. The Friday Society looks very fab, I think. Kick-ass ladies? Yum! I hope you’ll enjoy it since you like historical fiction. And then I chose The Heiresses because the cover is very lovely. I love that font and I’ve read the first installment of Sara Shepard’s Pretty Little Liars series, which I thought was very good but more teen than YA. So I hope you’ll like this one, since it seems a bit more mature.


Are you also doing the pick-for-me challenge with a friend or over at Amy’s LJ community? What do you think of our picks this month? Let us know in the comments!
Isa and Ren

4 thoughts on “Pick-For-Me • August

  1. I loved Havemercy, the beginning is a bit slow but it’s one of my favourite books now. Don’t give up on it Ren!

    • Your timing is perfect — I picked up Havemercy again this morning on the train and it finally got good, I devoured half of it. It still needs more mecha dragons though.

      • ^^ That is true, but I think almost every book needs more mecha dragons.
        I guess the 4 character POVs make it hard to have more dragons in the story :/

  2. Pingback: What’s Up Buttercup • August Edition | Words in a Teacup

Leave a Comment

