Top Ten Tuesday • Authors I Own The Most Books From

top ten tuesday bannerTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/feature hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

Hello! It’s been a while since I did a TTT, unfortunately I’m in a reading slump lately and haven’t been very inspired by bookish and blog-related things lately. But I’m going to try and fix that!

Top Ten Twelve Authors I Own The Most Books From

This question is not so straightforward as it looks like, because I have books in English, books in Italian, books all over the house, books on Kindle… I went on a book hunt today and the results were pretty surprising!

  • 60+ books by Agatha Christie. Most of them are my mum’s, from three different Italian editions (some of them dating back to the 70s), then we started buying them in English when we were on holiday abroad, and recently I’ve been getting them on Kindle because it’s so difficult to come across one that we haven’t read. But I like the mishmash look of the dead tree edition, last summer I found a couple of old editions at a used book sale and it was awesome.
  • 52 books by Terry Pratchett. I have an almost complete collection of the Discworld series. Paperbacks mostly, a couple of the recent ones in hardcover, and Tiffany Aching on Kindle. Plus all the guides, maps, and assorted paraphernalia. And Good Omens, of course, though my sister has stolen it and it lives on her shelf now.
  • 28 books by Joe Dever. He’s the author of the Lone Wolf gamebooks, which were all the rage in the late 80s and early 90s. I used to borrow them from the library when I was a kid. I don’t own those, unfortunately, but the author himself has kindly made all of the novels available online for free and I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to download them. I haven’t read them all yet, but I’m making progress and you can expect some gamebook-related post from me once I’m done!
  • 21 books by Mary Pope Osborne. Books from my childhood again, this time the Magic Tree House series. I recently discovered that there’s twice as many books, which I don’t think have ever been translated, and I’m sorely tempted to read them. I really liked this series, it was the first glimpse into my future obsession with all kinds of historical books.
  • 20 books by J.K. Rowling. Harry Potter series in English (paperback and hardcover British first edition) and Italian (very ugly first edition cover, not that the reprints are any better), plus The Casual Vacancy on Kindle.
  • 17 books by Emilio Salgari. Salgari was an Italian author from the end of the 19th century who wrote a bunch of novels about pirates. I have all of his Sandokan books but my favourite (maybe because I read his books first) was the Black Corsair. I’ve read that book so much it’s literally falling to pieces and has pages sellotaped on.
  • 16 books by Eoin Colfer, by Terry Deary, and by Aleksandr Voinov. Not co-authored by the three of them, of course… That would be way weird… Though I would read that book. Colfer wrote the Artemis Fowl series, and as with Harry Potter I have that in both English and Italian (though only up to book 5 because it went downhill after a while) as well as some of his standalones. Terry Deary is the author of the Horrible Histories books which I absolutely loved as a child. Aleksandr Voinov writes M/M erotica and given that I only discovered him a couple of years ago I’m impressed he made it on the list. But he is a very prolific author and writes short novels.
  • 13 books by J.R.R. Tolkien, and by Kjartan Poskitt. Another tie. Though I admit that I haven’t read most of the Tolkien books, The Silmarillion was my dad’s and I could never get to the end, plus all the lost stories, found stories, forgotten stories… welp. Poskitt wrote Murderous Maths, which was the equivalent of Horrible Histories except with maths. They’re wonderfully informative and funny and I should probably force people to read them.
  • 12 books by Bianca Pitzorno. I love Bianca Pitzorno! She wrote a bunch of books for teens about awesome girls and friendship and adventure. It’s a crying shame that her books were never translated in English (at least that I know of).

Top Ten Characters I’d Want On A Deserted Island With Me

Bonus! Since I missed last week’s TTT I’m catching up now.

  1. Locke Lamora from the Gentleman Bastard series because he’s brilliant and has a sense of humour, which is important because I don’t want to get stuck on an island with boring people.
  2. Howie from Know Not Why, because he’s hilarious and he’d make the getting-stuck-on-a-deserted-island-ness sound even crazier. I wouldn’t mind bringing all characters from this book, to be honest. Then they would just run around all the time being crazy awesome and I could watch them and never be bored even if I spent the rest of my life on that island.
  3. Carswell Thorne from the Lunar Chronicles series. Because he’s eyecandy, and because he did get stranded in a desert and survived. I’d probably want to bring Cress too. Scratch that, I’d bring the whole group (Cinder, Iko, Kai, Scarlet, even boring Wolf…) and it would probably be a vacation for them without anyone trying to kill them.
  4. John Granby from the Temeraire series because he’s used to dealing with crazy things, because he’s eyecandy, and because he’s so unlucky that bringing him along ensures that everything bad will happen to him and not me, poor baby.
  5. Laurent from Captive Prince because again eye candy, and also wonder whether he would crumple in the heat or whether he would just glare at the sun and outstare it. Also it’s highly likely that Damen would show up and rescue him, and therefore us.
  6. Isabella Camherst from the Memoirs by Lady Trent series because she’s been in all manner of tropical places and can do more or less anything. Also because there’s too many guys on this island already and she would make them behave, especially Locke who has a tendency to do crazy things if left to his own devices.
  7. Yanez from the Sandokan series because I seem to remember he was the one who kept saving Sandokan’s ass when Sandokan did crazy shit. Also I used to have the biggest crush on him.
  8. Sebastian St. Cyr from the series of the same name for eyecandy and survival skills and also for conversation. I should probably bring Hero along, too, because she’s a no-nonsense woman and I can’t think of a single scenario in which I would rather not have Hero.
  9. Julian Kestrel from the series of the same name because he can talk about Regency murders with Sebastian, and also because it occurs to me that all other men in this list are either gay or in a committed relationship or both so I might as well bring someone I can flirt with. With my luck Julian will get married in the last book and thwart my plan.
  10. Brienne of Tarth from A Song of Ice and Fire because she is badass, enough said.

Which books do you own the most of? Or alternatively, who would you be stuck on a deserted island with?
Ren

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday • Authors I Own The Most Books From

  1. Agatha Christie made my list too! Mine are all used bookstore finds and I’ve thought about replacing them with covers that are all the same but I like the mishmash as well! I like your deserted island plan! Great list! There are many authors I haven’t read yet but probably should.

    • I could never replace all my Agatha Christie books, there’s just so many of them! Though the new UK editions are very very pretty, I must say.

  2. Oh, wow, I can’t believe how many books from every author you have. Your bookshelf must be huge. Eoin Colfer is on my list, as is J.K. Rowling…both with a lot less books, though, haha.

    • Haha, I come from a family of readers so everyone has at least a couple of bookshelves. And it’s really easy to spot people with English as a second language this week because we all have twice as many J.K. Rowling books as everyone else. XD

  3. Pingback: What’s Up Buttercup • August Edition | Words in a Teacup

Leave a Comment

