[Ren] Falling From The Sky by Nikki Godwin

Falling From The Sky by Nikki GodwinTitle: Falling From The Sky
Author: Nikki Godwin
Published: February 21st, 2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 teacups
Find it at: amazonbarnesandnoblebookdepositorygoodreads

Ridge McCoy is a troubled kid. Ever since his father died in a plane crash, he’s been isolating himself and his relationship with his mother and brother has crumbled to pieces. He goes away to basketball summer camp, and he meets Micah Youngblood, the guy working the carousel at the mall. Micah has a crush on Ridge, except Ridge is straight, except not really, except Ridge has a girlfriend back home, except he also has a crush on Micah. You can see where this is going.

This book… I really don’t know. There are bits I really liked, and there are bits I really disliked. I stayed up one night to marathon it, but when I finished it I felt that something was missing, even though I couldn’t point my finger on what exactly. Forgive me the hackneyed metaphor, it was sort of like a summer fling that you don’t want to end, but then you get home and you look back and you’re like “pfft, I can’t believe I got so worked up over that“.

The positives are that it’s an easy read, angsty at times but overall heartwarming. I did like the secondary characters, and I wanted to find out more about Micah. The negatives are that the whole book is from Ridge’s POV, and Ridge is such a little shit sometimes. It made me feel old because all I wanted to do was shake some sense into Ridge and tell him to get his shit together and talk things through with Micah instead of sulking like a child. Mind, I’ve been seventeen and I’ve done some really stupid things, some of them because I was too chicken to talk to people. And this book is realistic in that sense, and the writing is mostly good. It’s just, Ridge as a protagonist was so frustrating.

The other thing that bothered me was that the author took the phrase “falling from the sky” and turned it into a metaphor for everything: Ridge’s dad fell from the sky, Ridge feels like he’s falling… Ridge’s phone doesn’t simply fall down when he drops it, oh no, it falls from the sky. By the end of chapter three, I was gnashing my teeth every time I encountered an instance of the phrase. It’s not a bad book by any means, it’s just not great either. Recommended if you want a cute standalone summer read.
Ren

Leave a Comment

