[Ren] Insurgent (Divergent #2) by Veronica Roth

Insurgent (Divergent #2) by Veronica RothSequel Spring badgeAvengers vs X-Men badgeTitle: Insurgent (Divergent #2)
Author: Veronica Roth
Published: May 1st 2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 teacups
Find it at: amazonbarnesandnoblebookdepositorygoodreads

The second book picks up right where Divergent left off, so it’s spoilery for those who haven’t read the book. Even though, admittedly, everyone has already read this book and/or seen the movie and/or been thoroughly spoiled for it, since I’m way late to the party. But, in case you’re also late to the party, I’ll keep this as spoiler-free as I can. It’s not as if much happens in this book, anyway.

What I liked about this book is that we got to see how different factions lived. The first book was very much centered around the Dauntless headquarters, while in Insurgent we see Amity, Candor, and even something about the factionless. That was cool. Of course, the downside is that the more I learned about the factions system, the more I became convinced that a society like that just can not work. Yeah, it is a dystopia, but to me it looked as if it should have imploded years ago. Plus, are you really trying to tell me that nobody ever wanted to know what’s beyond the gates of the city? At the end of the book there is a plot twist that’s meant to explain some things, but it just made things more confusing and less likely to me. It doesn’t help that it used one of my least favourite tropes ever, too…

As for the characters, Tris gets most of the screentime since she’s narrating the story in 1st person POV, and while I don’t dislike Tris, I’m not exactly in love with her either. She just doesn’t do anything most of the time, just passively lets other people decide for her. And when she does stuff… urgh. She makes some dumb choices, especially at the end of the book, and that just doesn’t make any sense because she’s supposed to have an aptitude for Erudite, so how come she’s so illogical? When she was ready to throw away her life, I just skimmed for a couple of chapters until she got her shit back together because that was not the kickass heroine I had been promised. On a sliding scale of Katniss Everdeen to Bella Swann, Tris was heading straight into Bella territory in this book. I’m not very attached to any of the secondary characters, either. People kept dying left and right, and I couldn’t care less, because there simply wasn’t any emotional attachment. They didn’t have enough of a personality for me to become attached to them.

Now, I’m going to keep reading, mostly because I want to know where the fuck this is headed. And I didn’t hate this book, stupid plot twists aside. It’s just that this series is so bland and generic, I don’t get where all the hype comes from.
Ren

2 thoughts on “[Ren] Insurgent (Divergent #2) by Veronica Roth

  1. I totally agree with you – this book was such a disappointment. The illogical actions of some of the characters were really frustrating. Actually the characters were probably the most annoying thing about this book for me, though the world-building is really difficult to believe in as well. I also felt the same in needing to read the last book just so I can find out what what going to happen. I look forward to your review of Allegiant!

    • Isa thought Allegiant was a trainwreck and is looking forward to me reading it, possibly so that we can hate it together… I kind of hope that Tris will redeem herself in the last book but I don’t see how that’s going to happen, she did a bunch of really dumb things in this book, especially the Marcus thing. So it’ll probably take me a while to get to Allegiant because first I want to finish a couple of series I’m actually invested in. Soon, though!

Leave a Comment

