[Ren] If It Drives (Market Garden #7) by Aleksandr Voinov & L.A. Witt

If It Drives (Market Garden #7) by Aleksandr Voinov & L.A. WittReview copy badgeTitle: If It Drives (Market Garden #7)
Author: Aleksandr Voinov & L.A. Witt
Published: March 31st, 2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 teacups
Find it at: amazonbarnesandnoblebookdepositorygoodreads

Okay, so, technically this isn’t an ARC because it’s been out for a couple of months already, but I still got it from NetGalley and I’m glad I did because Voinov and Witt are two of the best M/M authors I’ve ever read. Market Garden is a series of novels and short stories, all revolving around the titular gay brothel. As a rule I’m not a fan of stories involving rentboys or threesomes, but I made an exception for this series (and those two authors) and it was an excellent idea. Also, let’s get it out of the way, the book also revolves around BDSM and a D/s relationship.

There’s a few characters that show up from one story to the other, so that’s a bit of a bonus if you read all the books. James and Cal, this book’s main couple, showed up for a bit in book #4: James is Red Tie, one of Market Garden’s wealthy patrons, and Cal is his driver, who very obviously had a thing for his boss. Some books in the series are better than others, depending on who’s your favourite couple, and I think this one is one of my favourites. I liked the dynamic between the two protagonists. Often with romance there’s a conflict that could be solved easily if only the protagonists talked to each other, but here the barriers between the two of them (because of the age difference, because of the employer/employee situation) made it realistic that they wouldn’t talk and explain things.

Plus, lots and lots of delicious kinky fuckery. (I’m sorry, ever since I heard Charles Dance saying kinky fuckery, I feel the need to use the expression as often as I can, and then snicker.) If you’re into D/s, this is a great read: smoking hot but also realistic and showing that Cal’s priority is keeping things safe and sane for James. If I had a complaint to make, it’s that things seem to move too quickly at the end and suddenly they’re in love and together… I would have liked to see what happens next and how their relationship will work out. Can I hope there will be another book about them?
Ren

Leave a Comment

