What’s Up Buttercup • June Edition

What's Up, Buttercup?
What’s Up Buttercup is an overview of the past, present and future here on Words in a Teacup, posted around the middle of the month.

 
 
What's Been Going On:

 

Recently Reviewed

Mind Games by Kiersten White A Duty To The Dead by Charles Todd The Square Root of Murder by Ada Madison Valour and Vanity by Mary Robinette Kowal Keeping the Castle by Patrice Kindl
Shadowplay by Laura Lam Perfect Scoundrels by Ally Carter Coin Heist by Elisa Ludwig Playing With Fire by Derek Landy A Spy in the House by Y.S. Lee

 
 

Recently Acquired:
Covers of books Ren just gotRen: I got an ARC of the Magic City anthology because it has a Scott Lynch story, and I’m slowly making my way through it. Anthology stories are hit and miss, but there are a couple of good ones in there, and the Patricia Briggs story definitely made me want to check out her novels. I also finally started Siege and Storm, since the third book is coming out, but I’m growing very frustrated with Alina and Mal and I’m afraid I’ll end up agreeing with Isa’s less-than-glowing review.

Goodreads Links:
Magic City: Recent Spells • Siege and Storm

covers of books Isa recently gotIsa: I bought a German edition of The Weed That Strings The Hangman’s Bag by Alan Bradley the other day. It was among a heap of somewhat damaged books that were on sale and the cover just looked so cute! Flavia looks almost like Wednesday Addams on the German covers and I was intrigued by this kid detective, negl. I’ll have to buy the first book though because I dislike reading series out of order and this is the second in the series. ;)

Goodreads Links:
The Weed That Strings the Hangman’s Bag

 
 

Coming Up Soon:

Upcoming Reviews
If It Drives by Aleksandr Voinov & L.A. Witt Necropolis by Jordan L. Hawk Murder Most Unladylike by Robin Stevens Wintersmith by Terry Pratchett

Looking Forward To
Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo
It’s a bit empty this time but there are just so many “old” books on our TBRs, we’re having a hard time focusing on new releases!

 
 

That’s it for this month, buttercups. What’s going on with you? Feel free to share in the comments, we’d love to hear from you!
Isa and Ren

One thought on “What’s Up Buttercup • June Edition

  1. Spring Sequel has been a great challenge. I have enjoyed participating. I don’t know if I will get City of Heavenly Fire finished before the challenge ends. It was a great help with my year long series challenges. I don’t blame Isa for not wanting to do the big roundups anymore though.

Leave a Comment

