Pick-For-Me • June

Pick For Me

Pick-For-Me is a monthly feature where each of us picks two books for the other to read. Click here for details.

May Thoughts

May Picks

Isa: Last months picks weren’t half bad! I really really enjoyed Keeping the Castle because it was very lighthearted and fun! I enjoyed it so much that Ren promptly read it as well and we wrote a joint review about it. Tragically, The Square Root of Murder was not as good, but it provided lots of amusement in the form of people who do not know how phones work.

Ren: Isa picked Lirael for me last month, because she thought I’d never read it otherwise, and I really liked it! I’m going to read Abhorsen as soon as possible, though that might be not very soon at all because my TBR pile is huge. Unfortunately, I tried to get into A Great And Terrible Beauty but I had to DNF it at 20% because I found it boring and the characters annoying. Disappointing, because I liked other books by Libba Bray and I thought the premise was very interesting.

Goodreads Links:
Keeping the CastleThe Square Root of MurderLiraelA Great and Terrible Beauty


June Picks

Ren for Isa

A Spy in the House by Y.S. Lee The Ivy Tree by Mary Stewart

On Goodreads:
A Spy in the HouseThe Ivy Tree

Ren: I know Isa likes books about all-female spy academies, so A Spy in the House should be right up her alley! Plus it’s set in the Victorian era, and that’s right up my alley! As for The Ivy Tree, I also have it on my TBR because someone recommended Mary Stuart to me ages ago. But I’m not sure if I’d like it (it’s set in the 1960s, which always sounded a bit boring to me, maybe because that’s my parents’ generation?) so I’d like to hear Isa’s opinion.

Isa for Ren

Lady of Ashes by Christine Trent Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend by Matthew Dicks

On Goodreads:
Lady of AshesMemoirs of an Imaginary Friend

Isa: As Ren sad, she likes ye olde times, so I think Lady of Ashes should be right up her alley and I hope she enjoys it (and if she doesn’t I hope she finds amusement in her unenjoyment). It even has a mystery and stuff and things! And a compelling cover as well. Which also goes for Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend. It totally caught my eye and it sounds very interesting from the premise, so I’m very curious about Ren’s opinion of it. :D


Are you also doing the pick-for-me challenge with a friend or over at Amy’s LJ community? What do you think of our picks this month? Let us know in the comments!
Isa and Ren

One thought on “Pick-For-Me • June

  1. Pingback: What’s Up Buttercup • June Edition | Words in a Teacup

Leave a Comment

