Top Ten Tuesday • Books I Wanted More (Or Less) Of

top ten tuesday bannerTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/feature hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is a freebie, so I picked my own theme! Since Sequel Spring is still ongoing and I’ve been catching up with lots of series, it got me thinking about which books I wish were part of a longer series, and which series have outstayed their welcome…

Top Six Books I Wanted More Of

Harry Potter 1. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling
Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad JKR ended the series when she did instead of churning off dozens of books that followed Harry until he was a middle-aged, balding wizard with a boring desk job. Props to her for not caving in to the demand for an eight Harry Potter book. But the universe that she created is so awesome, I’d love it if she went back and wrote something with different characters, maybe set in a different time and place. (So, yes, I am excited at the idea of a film about Newt Scamander, but I’d give anything for a new book.)
Stardust 2. Stardust by Neil Gaiman
Neil Gaiman is a bit hit-and-miss for me — I loved some of his books and couldn’t finish others. Stardust is my favourite, I love the fairytale elements of the story and the adventure. And, while I love how the story ended for the characters, I wish there were more books set in this universe.
Silhouette of a Sparrow 3. Silhouette of a Sparrow by Molly Beth Griffin
Lovely story set in 1920s. The conclusion is bittersweet but ultimately optimistic and leaves the reader free to imagine what happens after the events of the book, but it would be even better to find out what happened to Garnet and Isabella and everyone else. Griffin’s prose has a dreamlike quality, and given that this is a first book, it would be criminal if she stopped writing!
Coin Heist 4. Coin Heist by Elisa Ludwig
This book isn’t even published yet (I got the ARC from NetGalley and my review will be posted in a couple of weeks) but I’m already clamouring for a sequel! In short, it’s a story about four teenagers teaming up to rob the US Mint. It’s a surprisingly fun read, and I ended up really enjoying the dynamics between the kids — so much that I’m hoping this’ll turn into a series, possibly where the protagonists run off to Europe to become an infamous criminal gang.
Newt's Emerald 5. Newt’s Emerald by Garth Nix
The world needs more kickass crossdressing Regency heroines. Or maybe not the world, but I need them. And I would be very happy with another dozen books about the exploits of Lady Truthful Newington. Of course, the problem with series is that the longer they run, the easier it is for the author to run out of ideas and start writing repetitive plots, but Nix is an excellent writer and I’m sure a possible sequel would be top-notch.
Know Not Why 6. Know Not Why by Hannah Johnson
Unsurprisingly, since I love this book and this author’s writing style. I think there was a promise of a sequel, but then the author got busy. Still, I would love to read more of Howie’s ridiculous inner monologue. And also because, as much as I love getting-together books, what I love even more are staying-together-and-making-it-work books.

Top Four Series I Wanted Less Of

Her Royal Spyness 1. Her Royal Spyness by Rhys Bowen
I loved this first book in the series, it was refreshing and the characters were likeable, especially Georgie. Unfortunately, instead of developing in the sequels, the characters went flat and the plot became an endless will-they-won’t-they between Georgie and her love interest. In the end I dropped the series after the fourth book, but I wish the author had stopped after a couple of books (and given me an ending instead of endless “to be continued”s).
Artemis Fowl 2. Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer
Fourteen-year-old me would be devastated if she knew, this was my favourite series along with Harry Potter. Unfortunately, I felt that the series had jumped the shark after Opal Deception, and Minerva in Lost Colony was too much of a Mary Sue. Artemis himself became annoying after a while, and his plans were more and more contrived. I might give the series another shot some day, but for now I’m pretending that only the first three books in the series exist.
Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy 3. Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
I can already hear people crying heresy. Yes, I know this is a classic and it’s supposed to be super awesome, but I just… I didn’t get it. I read the first book because all of my classmates at uni were obsessed with it, and it was okay, but then I read the second and third book and it was just more of the same nonsense.
Earthsea 4. Earthsea by Ursula K. Le Guin
I read this in the days before the internet, so for a long time I didn’t know it was part of a series. When I found out, I immediately looked for the sequels and read them. Maybe it’s because I was expecting something more similar to the first book, but I didn’t like the sequels nearly as much. I think part of it is that A Wizard of Earthsea is a coming-of-age story and it’s about Ged growing up, while in the sequels he’s older and world-weary. Either way, I don’t think I’ve ever re-read the second and third book, or looked for the other books and short stories.

Is there any series you wish would end already?
Or standalone books that you wish were part of a longer series?

Ren

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday • Books I Wanted More (Or Less) Of

  1. Always and forever wish there were HP books out of the other Houses’ povs. With 100% less Gryffindor bias. And I thought I had seen Hannah say something about the potential sequel a while ago on her tumblr but I can’t find it anymore. :( Woe.

    Tbh I really liked Hitchhiker, but I had a hard time getting through the other ones and stopped somewhere in the middle of the third one? Like, the first one is silly but good if you’re into that silly stuff, but then the others are a bit like Steven Moffat’s 50th Doctor Who anniversary episode. You’re just not entirely sure why anyone thought that was a good decision, yk?

    • Same. My favourite would be Hogwarts: A History but I’d love something from the POV of a Ravenclaw living a couple of centuries ago. Sequels would also be good.

      That’s… actually a great comparison for Hitchhiker. Like the rest of the series was just going downhill and amping up the weird factor, but the heart was no longer in it. (When is Moffat going to leave DW alone, anyway??)

  2. I’ve just recently downloaded Newt’s Emerald (it was free for subscribing to the Kindle Daily Deal email – it may still be free, I don’t know), but haven’t read it yet. I love the Abhorsen books though, and haven’t tried any other Nix books.

    I thought the Alex Rider books went on waaay too long, although the last two were pretty good, but everything just became increasingly less likely until it all became a bit ridiculous. Hitchhiker’s Guide got a bit silly in the later books and the sixth one by Eoin Colfer shouldn’t have happened. They should have all left it alone, I think.

    I’ve heard a lot about Coin Heist, so I’m looking forward to your review ;)

    • That sounds like a great deal! It’s very different from the Abhorsen books but still great and I think Newt could be BFFs with Sabriel and Lirael.

      I’ve never read the Alex Rider books but it’s a shame when a series drags on for too long, especially when it starts off good. But unfortunately it’s easier for authors to continue an established series rather than trying their luck with something new…

  3. I could not agree more on Harry Potter & Stardust!!! (Especially Harry Potter<3<3) I think if I had to pick one standalone I wanted more of, it would be a book called The Last Summer by Judith Kinghorn. Wonderful Edwardian Downton Abbey-esque book with amazing characters that I never wanted to stop reading about! *sigh*

    Here's my Top Ten Books I Want to See as Movies, if you’d like to check it out:)

  4. Pingback: What’s Up Buttercup • June Edition | Words in a Teacup

Leave a Comment

