Top Ten Tuesday • Books About Friendship

top ten tuesday bannerTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/feature hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

Top Ten Books About Friendship

Etiquette & Espionage (Finishing School #1) by Gail Carriger Tessa Masterson Will Go to Prom by Emily Franklin 6 Brendan Halpin I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have to Kill You (Gallagher Girls #1) by Ally Carter

  1. Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger. I adore the books in the Finishing School series not only because mysterious mysteries in a ridiculous steampunk world, but because Sophronia strikes so many lovely — and unlikely — friendships with people not part of her social circles, especially Vieve and Soap.
  2. Tessa Masterson Will Go To Prom by Emily Franklin and Brenda Halpin. Lucas and Tessa are great. Neither of them is perfect, but damn, they’re fabulous friends and I enjoyed that for once a book about lesbians was not focused on the struggle of coming out. (Though it was still related to that, because of reasons.)
  3. I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You by Ally Carter. The entire Gallagher Girls series is flawfree, tbh. Never thought I would like it but Cammie, Bex, Liz and Macy are such a wonderful and rather inspiring group of friends, I might just cry. They genuinely love each other and while their lifestyle throws a great many obstacles in their way they’re always there for each other.

 

Howl's Moving Castle (Howl's Moving Castle #1) by Diana Wynne Jones Skulduggery Pleasant (Skulduggery Pleasant #1) by Derek Landy Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy #1) by Richelle Mead Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer

  1. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones. Ahhh, what can I say?? Sophie and Calcifer! Howl and Calcifer! Anyone and Calcifer! Anything else was only on the sidelines for me because all my love for these people caring about Calcifer.
  2. Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy. Admittedly one of the few books (series) written by a man that I enjoy. I love the relationship between Skulduggery and Valkyrie — he’s first and foremost her mentor but at the end of the day they’re just epically hilarious friends. The series is really nice in that regard because it’s not plagued by tropes about teenage friendships that may or may not turn into romantic entanglements (which would be awkward in this care, negl).
  3. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. I bet this is on loads of people’s lists, because duhhh. It starts with Rose and Lissa on a roadtrip runaway trip from school and Rose letting Lissa feed from herself. If that’s not true friendship, I don’t know what is.
  4. Cinder by Marissa Meyer. Ahhhh, so many good friendships in The Lunar Chronicles. Most importantly: CINDER AND IKO. Be still my heart, I’m having an emotion. The whole Cinder/Iko friendship never fails to make me grin like a loon because they’re wonderful (and also epically good at contradicting society, bless them).

 

My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece by Annabel Pitcher Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants (Sisterhood #1) by Ann Brashares Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (Harry Potter #1) by J.K. Rowling

  1. My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece by Annabel Pitcher. While the book is about deeper things than “just” friendship, I was really moved by the unlikely friendship that Jamie and Sunya strike up. They’re not supposed to be friends, after all, but they just can’t help themselves. Adults are strange creatures, and I really enjoyed their moments.
  2. The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares. Who hasn’t heard of these books? They’re literally about the friendship of four girls who basically met in their mothers’ wombs and suddenly find themselves spending the summer apart for the very first time in their lives. And so they send each other these jeans that shall chronicle their adventures! It’s a great series about friendship and being away from friends and making some friends.
  3. Harry Potter by Joanne K. Rowling. Dun dun dun. I bet this is on like half the people’s lists today. But. Golden Trio, anyone? They’re kind of amazing? I may be the first one in line to rage about all three of them, but at the end of the day their friendship is what gets them through everything Voldemort throws at them (well… at Harry…) and in a way all three of them are my friends too. I grew up with them at my side, and I think that’s the most beautiful thing the series and this friendship have given me, really.

 

Now that I’m done emoting all over this list, which friendships are in your Top Ten this week?
Isa

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday • Books About Friendship

  1. I completely forgot Cinder until I saw it on some lists–but I agree, Iko is amazing, and the rest of the friendships are impressively tried by fire, too. Can’t wait for the next book!

    • I’m really lucky actually, because I couldn’t think of 10 books off the top of my head, but I have a nifty tag in my goodreads shelves for books that were big on friendship for me. Otherwise I probably would’ve forgotten about Cinder, I’m sure.

      Ugh, tell me about it, I need Winter, like, yesterday.

  2. I’m so glad I’m not the only one mentioning HP; it seems like an obvious choice & yes, there are positive/negative reasons to select it. I can’t believe I forgot GG & also TSotTP, I’m currently reading Ketchup Clouds (also Annabel Pitcher) so if MSLOTM is anything like that, I can tell that will be true. There’s definitely friendship… but I found better choices I think for my blog XD
    I’ve heard of friendship in #4 & #5, I agree. Awesome choices & great post! I rarely join in w/ TTT but I sometimes do & always enjoy it. This time tho I found your blog through Ren; she partakes in something I also do :)
    Happy reading! May books with friendship be plentiful <3

    • Ha, I’m in luck then. Ren usually does the TTT and she’s apparently very social outside of our blog. I spend a lot of time doing fiddly bits with our regular posts, so I’m very rarely seen, lol. Bad Isa, I should really get more involved with other blogs.

      I’ve got Ketchup Clouds on my TBR, the title speaks to me on a deeply spiritual level (I may or may not have a substance abuse problem that involves ketchup). It’s good to see somebody else mention it because I wasn’t too certain at first. :D

  3. Pingback: What’s Up Buttercup • June Edition | Words in a Teacup

Leave a Comment

