Thoughtful Thursday • Have you ever continued to read a series, because you really liked the secondary characters but you didn’t like the protagonist’s very much?

Thoughtful Thursday

Thoughtful Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Reading Is Fun Again. This week:

Have you ever continued to read a series, because you really liked the secondary characters but you didn’t like the protagonists very much?

Just a short one this week, I think. Real life, you know.

I genuinely cannot think of any series that I may have read because I liked the secondary characters despite not liking the protagonist(s). I talked a bit about this phenomenon with Ren and we kind of agreed that when this happens – not liking the protag, that is – it’s often due to shoddy writing or characterisation, something that often affects all the characters. I find though that if there is something that keeps me reading despite bleh characters and protags it’s the plot. Or my curiosity and hope that the plot will make up for the shitty writing. >.>

That said, I have to backtrack a little because, trololol, I’m reading Siege & Storm at the moment and, boy, does Alina tick me off (especially together with Mal). If it weren’t for Sturmhond, I might’ve moved on to something else already. So we’ll see how I feel about reading Ruin & Rising when I am done with this. Who knows, I might want to read it solely because of a secondary character!
Isa

3 thoughts on “Thoughtful Thursday • Have you ever continued to read a series, because you really liked the secondary characters but you didn’t like the protagonist’s very much?

  1. I was reading the Inheritance Cycle because I was interested in Murtagh (I can’t stand Eragon or anyone else), but since he wasn’t even in the third book I gave up and haven’t bothered finishing the series. That’s the only example I can think of, though.

  2. Books like that for me are Kagawa’s books, the vampire ones. I read one, didn’t really like it, but I liked the bad guy, so I read the other one as well. Won’t finish at all because it all got stupid. :L
    But other than that I don’t think I have another example.
    It’s sad when you dislike main character so much…

  3. Pingback: What’s Up Buttercup • May Edition | Words in a Teacup

Leave a Comment

