Top Ten Tuesday • Book Covers I’d Frame As Pieces of Art

top ten tuesday bannerTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/feature hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

Top Ten Book Covers I’d Frame As Pieces of Art

You know how they say “don’t judge a book by its cover”? Well, I do try, but I keep falling victim to it! I love books with shiny covers and I’d definitely get prints of those covers if I could. Side note: I was going to add a cover from Harry Potter, because that series had some beautiful editions over the years, but there are so many of them that I can’t pick and I was at risk of making this into a Top Ten Harry Potter Editions… so I’m sticking with other book covers for today, and we’ll do Harry Potter later on.


Shadow and BoneThe Nightmare AffairThe Assassin’s Curse

Like Isa, I definitely have a thing for covers with silhouettes. They look like papercuts and there’s something about it that really appeals to me. I love the black shadowy tendrils that start from the title and curl around the antlers on the cover of Shadow and Bone, and how the decorations on The Assassin’s Curse looks like a carved screen and hints at the setting. I haven’t read The Nightmare Affair but I’m intrigued by the scene on the cover, and the use of silhouettes lets me free to imagine the protagonist when I read, unlike what happens with fully illustrated covers. I have ebooks of those three titles but I’d definitely consider picking up a physical copy, since I can’t have prints of the covers for my walls.


TemeraireThe DivinersCinder

Also fitting with the silhouette theme, I love the Harper Voyager covers for the Temeraire series: they look like 19th century woodcuts and the b/w with just a touch of colour is very appealing. I’m heartbroken that after book 6 they changed the covers to some generic fantasy dragon crap. Same goes for The Diviners, the first book has an intriguing and unique cover (you can see New York in the background, and the planchette) but the new covers are meh and definitely won’t make me pick up the second book. As for Cinder, this one is my favourite but I love all three covers in the series, the red accents pop out of the cover and I think all three book covers would look great as a series.


The Lies of Locke LamoraMonstrous RegimentSix-Gun Snow White

Back to silhouettes with The Lies of Locke Lamora — I love this cover because, aside from being my favourite book, it gives an idea of the setting without actually being too detailed and forcing me to imagine it in a certain way. Plus, on the paperback the title is written in gold ink and looks great against the dark green. I have to suspend my usual dislike of illustrated covers for the Discworld covers by Josh and Paul Kidby. No idea why they don’t bother me (they rarely depict scenes in the books and the characters look nothing like my idea of them). It probably helps that many are parodies of famous works. Also, not a huge fan of the book but the cover of Six-Gun Snow White with its delicate colours and details immediately called out to me.


A Natural History of DragonsThe Tropic of SerpentsThe Voyage of the Basilisk

Finally, I’m posting all three of those because I’ve been moaning about wanting a print of those covers since I saw them, and also because the cover for The Voyage of the Basilisk was just revealed and the idea of waiting another ten months for the book is physically painful. Gorgeous, gorgeous illustrations anatomically-accurate dragons! Just check out the full wrap-around images on Tor’s website. I want those on my walls so much.

Which covers would you want to frame and put on your walls?

Ren

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday • Book Covers I’d Frame As Pieces of Art

  1. The Assassin’s Curse is BEAUTIFUL. I haven’t read it yet, but I’m seriously going to just based off cover alone. ;) lol I have a terrible obsession with covers. I mean we aren’t “supposed to judge” but who doesn’t? Like really?! I do quite often. *bluches guiltily*
    My TTT!

    • I knowww, I’ve read so many terrible books because of the pretty covers! The Assassin’s Curse is actually okay, but there’s a second book I haven’t read yet because the cover is red/orange and so I like it less than the blue… whoops…

    • It’s about a con-man/thief pulling off a heist in a fantasy city! And it’s my favourite book ever so I can’t be objective about it at all, haha.

  2. Pingback: What’s Up Buttercup • May Edition | Words in a Teacup
  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday • Book Cover Trends I Like/Dislike | Words in a Teacup

Leave a Comment

