[Isa] Uncommon Criminals (Heist Society #2) by Ally Carter

Uncommon Criminals (Heist Society #2) by Ally CarterSequel Spring badgeTitle: Uncommon Criminals (Heist Society #2)
Author: Ally Carter
Published: June 21, 2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 teacups
Find it at: amazonbarnesandnoblebookdepositorygoodreads

When Katarina Bishop is asked to steal the world’s most famous gem — the Cleopatra  Emerald — for a good cause she jumps at the chance to do it. Little does she know just how real the supposed curse on the emerald can get. Kat and her crew of merry teenage thieves chase the precious stone across the world with a little more trouble than usual. Every single con they know? Somebody else knows it too, and it might be too late for Kat to get the job done.

Favourite quote:

“What about her?”
“That’s Uncle Felix in drag, Simon,” Kat told him.
Oh, yeah,” Simon and Hale said, tilting their heads and staring at a surprisingly striking figure in an equally striking hat at the royal wedding of Charles and Diana.

I think I am in love with the antagonist. Send help. This never ends well.

Ally Carter has done a marvellous job with the second installment of this series. Uncommon Criminals is very fast-paced, very exciting and very well written. Again it was a quick read but I expect nothing else from her books now. It’s why I enjoy them so much!

I really adore what Carter has done with the characters and while at times I felt like they stagnate, it’s not very noticeable. Kat’s motivations make her rather interesting and even though I don’t understand them all, it makes her an intriguing main character. Her budding romance with one of the boys doesn’t even bother me and I’m usually very bothered by romance in teen/YA stuff.

What I really really adored was that we got to see some more ladies doing stuff in this Old Boys Club! Not that I blame the author for the latter, because frankly I’d be a bit suspicious if there were too many leading ladies in the crime families of the world. Which is why I love what was done in this book! Kat continuously goes against what the men (and boys, let’s be real here) in her life tell her and yeah, she makes mistakes along the road, but she also grows a lot as a character. Encountering her adversary in this story was rather breathtaking because it reminded me very very much of another character very similar to this one (albeit one of the television variety) and Kat’s reaction and her subsequent attempts at fixing things are marvellous to read about.

Like Kat, the book isn’t perfect and frankly I found the actual heist bit a bit dull, BUT THE CHARACTERS! Their familial bonds, their friendships, their desire to help Kat who has pretty much exiled herself ! I love the characters and I adore the world they inhabit.

(Also, the covers are lovely. I really like that cover model. 10/10 would bang.)
Isa

2 thoughts on “[Isa] Uncommon Criminals (Heist Society #2) by Ally Carter

  1. Pingback: Sequel Spring • Round-Up #3 | Words in a Teacup
  2. Pingback: [Isa] Perfect Scoundrels (Heist Society #3) by Ally Carter | Words in a Teacup

Leave a Comment

