Top Ten Tuesday • Books If You Like X tv show/movie/comic/play/etc

top ten tuesday bannerTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/feature hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

Top Ten Books If You Like X tv show/movie/comic/play/etc

I really liked this theme, and I’m looking forward to everyone’s recommendations based on my favourite shows and movies! But since there’s no way I could think of ten books based on the same thing, I spread this out a little.

If you like Game of Thrones…

1. The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

I originally picked it up because it had a blurb from George R.R. Martin, and I never regretted it. This is one of my favourite books, and it’s fantasy at its best: a brilliant plot spanning multiple countries, witty characters, moral grey areas… Definitely a recommended read if you like the genre!

2. The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

I confess I don’t remember much about this, and I still haven’t read the second book in the series, but it was still a very entertaining read in a sea of mediocre/generic fantasy.

Also if you like Game of Thrones you should definitely read A Song of Ice and Fire, because the tv show is good but really doesn’t do some characters justice.

If you like Downton Abbey…

3. The American Heiress by Daisy Goodwin

Set a few years before Downton, it’s the story of an American girl whose mother wants her to marry an English nobleman. She’s even called Cora, same as the Countess of Grantham who married under similar circumstances in the tv show, but that’s just coincidence because the book was published before the show began.

4. Summerset Abbey by T.J. Brown

I recently reviewed this series and overall it was an enjoyable read. This one’s more definitely inspired by Downton Abbey, down to the fact that the protagonists are three sisters, but the atmosphere of the era was well done and there were enough shenanigans to keep me entertained.

If you like Glee…

Or if, like me, are fascinated by this endless trainwreck and can’t stop watching…

5. Know Not Why by Hannah Johnson

This book has a lot of themes in common with the show, the protagonist is a twentysomething guy who’s trying to figure out what to do with his life and also coming to terms with his sexuality, and his friends and family are a bunch of quirky secondary characters. Unlike the show, there is only one impromptu musical number and there are no gaping plot holes or mischaracterization, but you can’t have everything…

6. Beauty Queens by Libba Bray

The similarity here is that there’s a ragtag bunch of misfits — a bunch of teenage beauty pageant competitors, to be exact, whose plane crashes in an island in the middle of the ocean. At first glance they seem like generic cheerleader stereotypes, all vain and superficial, but obviously it turns out that they’re all misfits in their own way. Also contains LGBT themes.

If you like Firefly…

7. Cress by Marissa Meyer

A group of people travelling together in a small spaceship, in a future where the predominant language is Chinese. The captain is a rogue with a heart of gold, the mechanic is a very determined girl who’s more comfortable around machines than in a ballroom, and there’s a girl who’s been in the hands of the baddies for too long and she’s losing her mind… There were already similarities in the previous books, but Cress cements it — and my love for this series. I just want those guys to stay together and be a makeshift family forever!

If you like Supernatural…

8. The Diviners by Libba Bray

Okay, I’m sure that there are dozen of books that have more similarities with the show, this one has a girl as a protagonist and it’s set in the 1920s. But there were bits that definitely gave me a definite SPN vibe — like the fact that there’s a monster that kills people in gruesome ways and must be stopped, scouring the library and looking for clues in books, and there’s even a salting and burning of the body at some point.

If you like Leverage (or White Collar)…

9. Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

Super smart protagonist, people teaming up and putting their talents together to break the law, and their goal is usually to stop some bigger criminal… This series went downhill after a bit for me, but the first two or three books are excellent and a must read for fans of heists and smartass protagonists.

10. Among Thieves by Douglas Hulick

Grittier fantasy, the protagonist is an informant for a criminal investigation and there’s a lot of backstabbing and not knowing who to trust. Another smartass hero who has to adjust to whatever the world throws at him to survive.

And, to come full circle, Locke Lamora is also an excellent read if you like Leverage or White Collar…

Agree? Disagree? Can you think of other books inspired by those series?

Ren

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday • Books If You Like X tv show/movie/comic/play/etc

  1. I LOVE SUPERNATURAL. (oops, my fangirl is showing.) Um, so yes, I think I need to look up The Diviners then. x) And I’m also a massive fan of The Lunar Chronicles sooo, I suddenly have all these TV series I need to check out. ;) My TTT!

    • Omg Firefly is so good, if you haven’t seen it yet bring a bucket for your tears and prepare yourself for emotional anguish and the feeling of utter desolation because it’s over.

  2. Agree muchly, would list Heist Society in the Leverage/White Collar section. Eheheheheh.

    I’m gonna have a cry over Firefly now, if you don’t mind.

    • Yeah, sorry for not including it but I wanted to stick to books I read.

      Can I join you? I’m also up for crying about Firefly. Just as long as Winter doesn’t end like Serenity…

  3. I’ve yet to read LIES OF LOCKE LAMORA or NAME OF THE WIND but I am completely obsessed with GAME OF THRONES! I’ll have to hit those series up when the latest tv season ends, to tide me over and curb the inevitable GoT withdrawal :)

  4. I am still following Glee to see how massively it is going to explode when it gets cancelled. And it will.
    I am so, so glad I’m not the only one.
    I’m going to check out pretty much every one of these books, especially American Heiress because it sounds awesome, and also the Lies of Locke Lamora? Right up my alley. The Diviners sounds great as well.
    Brilliant list, thank you! :D
    aimes @ What Aimee Read Next

  5. Pingback: What’s Up Buttercup • May Edition | Words in a Teacup

Leave a Comment

