Pick-For-Me • May

Pick For Me

Pick-For-Me is a monthly feature where each of us picks two books for the other to read. Click here for details.


April Thoughts

April Picks

Isa: I got Strands of Bronze and Gold by Jane Nickerson and The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross. Nickerson’s retelling of the Bluebeard fairytale was very interesting, though I wouldn’t recommend it to the age group that the publisher is marketing it to. I never really managed to pick up The Girl in the Steel Corset, sorry Ren. I started it once in like 2012 and moved it to the “currently abandoned” pile because I couldn’t get into the characters and just about everything in it either bored me or pissed me off. Suffice it to say that it now lives in the DNF pile.

Ren: Last month’s book were hit and miss for me. Ultimately one hit, and one missed. The Assassin’s Curse by Cassandra Rose Clarke had an interesting setting and a kickass heroine; the love interest was kind of a wet blanket, and I’m annoyed at how abruptly the first book ends, but I’ll definitely read the second book to find out how Ananna’s story will end! Unfortunately, Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder wasted an interesting premise with a generic setting and even more generic characters. The interesting bits weren’t enough to keep up my interest.

Goodreads Links:
Strands of Bronze and GoldThe Girl in the Steel CorsetPoison StudyThe Assassin’s Curse


May Picks

Ren for Isa

Keeping the Castle by Patrice Kindl The Square Root of Murder by Ada Madison

On Goodreads:
Keeping the CastleThe Square Root of Murder

Ren: Keeping The Castle is also on my TBR (regency era! pretty cover!) but I never got around to reading it, so maybe Isa can tell me about it. It’s been so long, I don’t even remember what the plot is supposed to be about. Also, Isa has a ridiculous amount of cozies in her TBR, so I think it’s high time she started reading them. I picked The Square Root of Murder more or less at random — I have a degree in maths so I was like, yay numbers!


Isa for Ren

Lirael by Garth Nix A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray

On Goodreads:
LiraelA Great and Terrible Beauty

Isa: Let’s be honest here, I picked Lirael because knowing Ren, she’ll just read all the other things before finally getting to Lirael, just to spite me because I’ve been bugging her to read it for a while now. :P Besides, I am almost 100% certain that she’ll like Lirael because it’s just that good. (You better like it, Ren, or else!) As for A Great and Terrible Beauty, I picked that one because it sounds interesting and it used to live on my (now cleaned out) tbr. I’m actually too lazy to read it myself. >.> I like relying on Ren’s opinions, heh.

Ren: I’d never do it to spite you! Though it’s true I would probably never get to Lirael otherwise, there’s just so many books to read…!


Are you also doing the pick-for-me challenge with a friend or over at Amy’s LJ community? What do you think of our picks this month? Let us know in the comments! (Agreement on the topic of Lirael and prophylactic flailing over the upcoming Clariel are much appreciated.)
Isa and Ren

8 thoughts on “Pick-For-Me • May

    • Glad to hear that! I considered Random Reads for myself but I really lack conviction to actually read whatever the randomiser tells me to. Knowing me, I’d just chicken out, which is why Pick For Me works really well for me? Ren and I have a bit of an understanding of what the other one likes and in the end I have Ren to answer to and not myself. It makes all the difference to me!

      I’m very hopeful about Ren’s picks for me, especially since she somehow managed to read my mind; just a couple of days ago those particular books caught my eye again when I was cleaning out my TBR.

  1. The only book I’ve read here is The Assassin’s Curse and I have to agree 100% with the romance aspect and the ending. It was like the whole book was one giant introduction? But I also heard that both books were meant to be read as one and it was split so the resulting novel would not be huge. That’s what I was told anyway. I’d be interested in seeing what you think of the second book, as I still still might pick it up.

    • Yeah, it’s true that it was originally a single novel (which I didn’t know until after, or I would have read them back to back). Everyone seems to agree that the second book is better, though, so I have my hopes up that Naji will redeem himself at some point.

  2. Gasp! I really loved Poison Study and I’m sad to hear Ren didn’t like it. And I didn’t know Strands of Bronze and Gold was a Bluebeard retelling! It’s going up on my wishlist since I am a huge Bluebeard fan. The Girl in the Steel Corset has a pretty cover, so it’s too bad you couldn’t get into it, Isa. :( I hope you both enjoy your May books!

  3. Pingback: What’s Up Buttercup • May Edition | Words in a Teacup

Leave a Comment

