[Isa] Heist Society (Heist Society #1) by Ally Carter

Heist Society (Heist Society #1) by Ally CarterTitle: Heist Society (Heist Society #1)
Author: Ally Carter
Published: February 9, 2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 teacups
Find it at: amazonbarnesandnoblebookdepositorygoodreads

Katarina Bishop has been in the family business for 15 years when she decides to embark on the biggest con she’s ever done — leaving a life of crime behind for a perfectly normal one at the best boarding school in the country. It doesn’t take long though until a friend drops by to give her an important message: Her dad’s suspected of stealing from a powerful mobster and he doesn’t care if Kat’s dad did it or not; he just wants his paintings back. Now it is up to Kat to prove her dad’s, well, innocence and find the stolen artworks before anyone gets hurt.

Ahhh, Ally Carter, stop making me stay up well into the middle of the night on a work day! Heist Society was another fab read and I just adore Ally Carter’s writing. I didn’t love it as much as the books in her Gallagher Girls series (which are set in a boarding school for girls becoming spies), but that only means there’s room for my affection to grow!

Kat was a very fascinating character to read about — she’s strong-willed and intelligent and an excellent con artist, but she’s also persona non grata with her family at the moment and that definitely affects her. Luckily there are still people who’ve got her back and I love every one of them, especially Angus and Hamish (who remind me a lot of the Weasley twins).

The plot was definitely interesting too and I hope we get to find out more about the mysterious master thief that surfaced in this book. I’ll be thoroughly disappointed if we don’t, actually. I’ll survive, but I want to know more! The only thing that bothered me was that the book moved too fast. Not the plot, but I found that the chapters were sometimes a bit too quick and I would’ve liked more reading time with the characters and places.

The thing I really really love and at the same time hate the most about Ally Carter’s books is that they’re really quick reads, though. The writing is very captivating and easy to slip into, it only took a page or two before I was completely lost in the universe and pretty much gobbled it all down. It’s great because yay three hours and I’m done and happy and full of new amazing information and worlds. But it’s also frustrating because I wish I could have more time with it. Oh well, I shan’t complain, because I love it more than I hate it. ;)

I’m giving four teacups for a really enjoyable read! I think the series has a lot of potential and can be better than this and I dearly hope it will in fact get even better! I’d definitely recommend this book. :D
Isa

2 thoughts on “[Isa] Heist Society (Heist Society #1) by Ally Carter

  1. Pingback: [Isa] Perfect Scoundrels (Heist Society #3) by Ally Carter | Words in a Teacup

Leave a Comment

