Top Ten Tuesday • Characters Who Could (Not) Deal With Being A Clone

top ten tuesday bannerTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/feature hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

Top Ten Characters Who Could (Not) Deal With Being A Clone

Top Ten Characters Who X (you fill in the blank — examples: piss me off, are the popular kids, are bookish, would be my bff, that stole my heart, etc. etc.)

Soooooooo. Orphan Black came back last weekend and I am such a fan of that show. I re-watched it all to get ready for the new season (good thing, too, because I apparently remembered nothing), I went and bothered a bunch of friends to go watch it until they relented and did so (hah! success!), I reblogged the exciting things on my tumblr dashboard. Suffice it to say that I’ve been thinking a LOT about clones and Orphan Black in particular. I went to find some fiction with clones in it (not quite so successful). So when I saw the topic for this week’s TTT, I was having a hard time coming up with anything. Because, well, my mind was on clones. All the lovely clones. I could make a Top Ten Clones in Orphan Black list right off the bat, but this topic was a bit difficult. I didn’t know what topic to choose. Top 10 characters who tick me off? Not that hard, but then again I loathe humanity in general and take it out on fictional characters a lot. It wouldn’t be fair. Top 10 characters I want to be besties with? Eh, did I mention I loathe humanity and take it out on fictional characters? But then, of course… CLONES!

 

Top 5 Characters Who Could Deal With Being A Clone

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling Cinder by Marissa Meyer Soulless by Gail Carriger The Thousand-Dollar Tan Line by Rob Thomas Dreamfever by Karen Marie Moning

Hermione Granger. She’d totally be able to handle it. It might throw her a bit, yes, but then she’d go into full research mode and just deal with it. If she can deal with being a witch, she can deal with being a clone.

Linh Cinder from the Lunar Chronicles. She’s had to deal with a bunch of information thrown her way and what with being a cyborg and all the bullshit she’s had to take up with, I think being a clone is just something she would take in stride.

Alexia Tarabotti. Considering that she’s soulless and quite resigned to it all, being a clone would be just another item on the list of things that make her different from everyone else. As long as there is something to eat she’ll be fine with it. (And just imagine Lord Akeldama’s delight if she turned up with a sister clone on his doorstep!)

Veronica Mars. What? There’s a book now, that makes her legit material for this! If anything, being a clone might make Veronica even more interested in the PI business. After all she did investigate the mystery of her parentage, and the mystery of what happened that night at the pool… This one would just be a bigger mystery and while I am sure that Keith would forbid her to do any research (if he knew, that is), she wouldn’t be deterred. It might unsettle her, yes, and it would make her even more secretive and an outcast, but Veronica Mars would deal with it and investigate her own clone existence.

Dani O’Malley. She may not be my favourite, but I’m pretty damn sure that Dani would deal just fine with being a clone. It’d throw her off track, yes, but at least from my experience with the character Dani is a person who takes what life gives her and turns it into something she can use to her advantage. She is young, yes, but she’s also feisty and a warrior. Being a clone? There are worse things in this world.

 

Top 5 Characters Who Could Not Deal With Being A Clone

Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger The Alchemyst by Michael Scott Blameless by Gail Carriger

MacKayla Lane. She has the incredible habit of ignoring things to a point where it literally could punch her in the face and she’d still pretend it’s not true. I love her but Jericho Barrons would have his hands full if she were a clone and he’d have to deal with her attitude.

Harry Potter. The kid deals with a lot but I think this would be the straw the broke the camel’s back. It’s hard enough being him what with not even remembering defeating Voldemort when he was a baby and that prophecy hanging over his head and also the death of his godfather… finding out that he is not even his own person but a mere scientific experiment? It’d probably be too much.

Holden Caulfield. He’d just whine and write a book about how hard it is being a clone and how he does all these normal people things even though he is a clone and what is the meaning of life, what is the meaning of being a clone, is it even a normal people thing to do if he were to do it, what if he walked through the streets of New York knowing full well that he is a clone?

Josh Newman from that Nicholas Flamel series. He’d literally be too stupid to grasp the concept. Even if that concept smacked him in the face with really simple words spelling it out for him. He’d say he gets it and then five seconds later disagree.

Lord Conall Maccon. He’s the biggest drama queen since Sirius Black, so yeah. He’d probably just get really really drunk and leave his poor beta to pick up the pieces.

 

Now that I’m done, all I’m wondering is what’s in your Top Ten this week?
Isa

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday • Characters Who Could (Not) Deal With Being A Clone

  1. Ahahahah this concept! I haven’t read any of these other than Harry Potter, but this is probably the most entertaining concept I’ve ever come across lol! (And Orphan Black is like my #1 need to watch. WHY Netflix/hulu Why???)

    • Ahhh, your comment makes me so happy. :D I hope you’ll get to watch Orphan Black soon, it’s REALLY good. Tatiana Maslany is flawfree and an amazing magical unicorn.

      For what it’s worth, even with the concept I chose I had a hard time, as evidenced by using three series twice, oops.

  2. haha Holden as a clone, what a disaster. Spot on intimation of what he would be like…insufferable.
    You’re right, Harry being a clone would be too much, not only for him but think about the readers. Our minds wouldn’t be able to wrap around that.

    Great List, thanks for stopping by!

    • Imagine though, OotP emo!Harry as a clone. I’d probably have to shoot myself.

      Thank you for returning the visit. :D

  3. Wait Veronica Mars is also in book form?? How did I miss this? Great great topic. Totally agree about Hermione and poor poor overwhelmed Harry. Holden Caulfield made me laugh – he’d just fall apart. He’s bad enough with normal stuff but the whole clone thing would be it. Love Orphan Black though I somehow missed the last part of the first season. Just now catching up!

    • It is! First tie-in came out last month! I think there’s another one planned as well.

      Yes good, you have excellent taste in tv shows. :D I must now ask the obvious question: Who is your favourite clone?

  4. Great idea for a topic. I adore Hermione and definitely agree that she would be able to handle it, she would spend all her time researching it and finding out more. Harry wouldn’t be able to, he’d go all super angst and ‘my life is so hard’ on us. It would definitely break the poor boy. Here’s my TTT :)

  5. Pingback: What’s Up Buttercup • May Edition | Words in a Teacup

Leave a Comment

