What’s Up Buttercup • April Edition

What's Up, Buttercup?
What’s Up Buttercup is an overview of the past, present and future here on Words in a Teacup, posted around the middle of the month.



What's Been Going On:

Recently Reviewed

The House Girl by Tara Conklin The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling Down the Aisle (Dare Me #2.5) by Christine Bell Down on Her Knees (Dare Me #3) by Christine Bell The Madman’s Daughter (The Madman’s Daughter #1) by Megan Shepherd The Diviners (The Diviners #1) by Libba Bray The Perfect Kiss (The Merridew Sisters #4) by Anne Gracie Remnant by K.J. Charles & Jordan L. Hawk Alchemy and Meggy Swann by Karen Cushman The Tropic of Serpents (Memoirs by Lady Trent #2) by Marie Brennan The Wee Free Men (Discworld #30) by Terry Pratchett A Hat Full of Sky (Discworld #32) by Terry Pratchett Divergent (Divergent #1) by Veronica Roth Newt's Emerald by Garth Nix The (Im)Perfect Girlfriend (Sarah Sargeant #2) by Lucy-Anne Holmes The Autumn Bride (Chance Sisters #1) by Anne Gracie Kissing Sherlock Holmes by T.D. McKinney and Terry Wylis Just A Girl Standing In Front Of A Boy by Lucy-Anne Holmes Spring Awakening (Summerset Abbey #3) by T.J. Brown Cress (Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer Strands of Bronze and Gold by Jane Nickerson



Recently Acquired:

covers of books Isa recently gotIsa: I actually have more than enough books on my TBR and in my shelves and on my kindle, but I just can’t stay away! A couple of years ago some dear friends online got me to watch The Room with them (a truly terrible film) and last year Greg Sestero, who plays Mark in the film, released The Disaster Artist, which chronicles the making of said film and the years he spent getting to know Tommy Wiseau. I actually got this book shortly after our last Buttercup post and I’ve been slowly getting through it ever since. Still not finished, I’m afraid. Tommy Wiseau’s kind of crazy is a tad overwhelming and I need to take breaks between reading or I’ll go mad. But it’s oh so entertaining! (And slightly terrifying. Just how did Greg Sestero actually survive being Tommy’s friend?!) Other than that, I also stumbled across Witch for Hire by N.E. Conneely. I don’t even remember how I found it, but the summary sounds very interesting!

Goodreads Links:
The Disaster ArtistWitch for Hire

Covers of books Ren just gotRen: Like Isa, I already have more than enough books on my TBR but when I see new titles I can’t resist. I completely missed this when listing April released in last month’s Buttercup post, but Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins came out last week. I liked Hawkins’ Hex Hall series and so I picked this up without even looking at the reviews. It’s a Paranormal YA so I’ll either love it or hate it… let’s hope it’s the former! I also got Promise of Blood by Brian McClellan because I needed a fix of epic fantasy and the idea of a fantasy set in the Industrial Era instead of the usual Middle Ages appealed to me. Now I just need to make time and read them…

Goodreads Links:
Rebel Belle • Promise of Blood



Coming Up Soon:

Upcoming Reviews

The Assassin's Curse (The Assassin's Curse #1) by Cassandra Rose Clarke Peacemaker by Marianne de Pierres Siege and Storm (The Grisha #2) by Leigh Bardugo The Thousand-Dollar Tan Line (Veronica Mars #1) by Rob Thomas & Jennifer Graham

Looking Forward To

April 22: Deception's Princess (Deception's Princess #1) by Esther M. Friesner April 29: Valour and Vanity (Glamourist Histories #4) by Mary Robinette Kowal May 6: After the End (After the End #1) by Amy Plum May 6: Sworn in Steel (Tales of the Kin #2) by Douglas Hulick May 8: Murder Most Unladylike (Wells and Wong #1) by Robin Stevens May 13: Renegade (MILA 2.0 #2) by Debra Driza
(Does anybody else think that the cover for Deception’s Princess looks like Merida?)



That’s it for this month, buttercups. What’s going on with you? Feel free to share in the comments, we’d love to hear from you!
Isa and Ren

3 thoughts on “What’s Up Buttercup • April Edition

Leave a Comment

