Top Ten Tuesday • Bookish Things (That Aren’t Books) That I’d Like To Own

top ten tuesday bannerTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/feature hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

Top Ten Bookish Things (That Aren’t Books) That I’d Like To Own

What a terrible theme! I feel quite proud of my self-restraint for getting through it without whipping out my credit card even once. I also want some A Song of Ice and Fire house pride shirts, but the few Tyrell items I found are kind of meh. I’m jealous of the Starks and Lannisters and Targaryens getting all the swag.

1. The Lewis Carroll Mad Tea Collection

A box of Alice in Wonderland-themed teas and chocolate. The detail photos are absolutely gorgeous — there’s Alice Peach Oolong Tea, White Pear Rabbit Tea and mad Hatter Green Tea, complete with quotes and Wonderland-inspired charms and reusable eco-friendly teabags. The only problem? It was created by a design student and so it doesn’t exist. :(

2. Alice in Wonderland Book Clutch Purse

A beautiful purse made out of a leather bound edition of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland.I love the detail of the white rabbit’s pocket-watch as the fastening, and the blue and gold.

3. Infinity Scarf with Alice in Wonderland Quote

Yeah okay, I might have a teeeny obsession with this book, but there’s just so many awesome themed items! Plus, I could spot fellow book nerds in a crowd by noticing who creeps closer to read the scarf.

4. Moby Dick Bookmarks

I have never read Moby Dick but those are too cute to pass, I love the detail of the waves. Unfortunately they are also not for sale because they were developed for a promotion for a Hamburg bookseller…

5. “Go Away, I’m Reading” Book Covers

A brilliant series of book jackets. I also hate it when people come up to me and try to engage me in conversation when I’m reading, so they would be perfect for me. The .pdfs can be downloaded from the creators’ blogs, there’s even themed covers like “At Hogwarts, BRB” and “BRB, Drinking with Haymitch” and so on.

6. Classic Book Kindle Cover

Maybe I wouldn’t get much use out of the bookmarks and dust jackets, but I’d definitely use this one! It’s a Kindle cover made out of a classic book and it looks fantastic, I wouldn’t know which one to pick. If it wasn’t obvious already, I love fancy book covers. And, speaking of…

7. Pride and Prejudice Tote Bag

Gorgeous art from the 19th century cover illustration. I love the black and white simplicity of this one. I don’t even use tote bags but I need this one because of reasons.

8. Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost Pillow

Most LoTR merchandise that I’ve seen has this fake/rugged fantasy look, so I immediately fell in love with this design because of the bright colours over black. I also love the subtle design of the dragon on the background. The same design also comes on sweatshirts and hoodies, but I kind of want the pillow. One can never have enough pillows.

9. Marauder’s Map Replica

It wouldn’t be a proper wishlist without some kind of Harry Potter paraphernalia… I also want a House Scarf, but since 99% of Ravenclaw merchandise is either blue and silver (ew!) or has a raven on it (double ew!) I’ll go with this. Full-size, taller-than-me Marauder’s map replica.

10. Cup of Tea Bookends

Those are just perfect for the blog and I had to add them to the list, even though my shelves are so crammed that there’s literally no space for bookends anywhere.

What’s on your wishlist?

Ren

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday • Bookish Things (That Aren’t Books) That I’d Like To Own

    • Thanks! I know, right? There are a couple of knick-knacks on my shelves but they’re piled on top of the books, or in front of them… book ends are definitely out of the question…

  1. Pingback: What’s Up Buttercup • April Edition | Words in a Teacup
  2. OMG, I *love* book scarves! My boyfriend got me a scarf with a Jane Eyre excerpt on it for Christmas a few years ago, and it’s still one of my favorite things ever. I just wish it was more lightweight so I could wear it all the time! When someone makes a lighter fabric to print the words on, I’m going to be in trouble for sure. I’d want a Harry Potter one, Alice in Wonderland, Enchanted Forest Chroniclces, … oh I could go on and on.

    And as for that design student AiW tea set, I totally know your pain. I found a Harry Potter Monopoly and about died when I realized it was created as an art project. *sigh* ;)

    Here’s my list of all-things-bookish-to-buy, if you’d like to check it out:)

    Lindsey @ Bring My Books

    • Ooh, a Jane Eyre scarf! Nice! I could have made a top ten just with scarves that I wanted…

      I feel you about the Harry Potter Monopoly. I googled it and I want one now… maybe it can be a craft project? Whyyy isn’t it for sale though…

      • I have absolutely no idea. I can think of no less than 15 people off the top of my head that would immediately buy one. How does kickstarter work?? Maybe this is how we make our millions!! ;)

Leave a Comment