Thoughtful Thursday • What do you do with the books that you have read?

Thoughtful Thursday

Thoughtful Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Reading Is Fun Again. This week:

What do you do with the books that you have read?

Do you keep them? Donate them? Gift them? Return them to the library? Throw them away? Make them into arts & crafts projects? Has this changed during the years? Have you noticed a change in your perspective regarding read books?

I eat them.

 

For realsies though, I was a bit uncertain about this week’s topic because frankly, I don’t do anything with them. Due to money limits and the lack of a bookshop or a library anywhere even remotely close to me I tend to just go for ebooks. Those live on my kindle until the time comes that I’ve finished them (I’ve currently got around 900 files on my kindle? But a lot of those are downloaded fanfiction, so…) and once I’ve done that, I move them to my laptop. (I do not trust amazon enough not to one day do a thing that will leave me unable to access the books I’ve bought, so better safe than sorry, right?).

As for physical books, they get a place on one of my bookshelves. I don’t buy nearly enough physical books but when I do it’s because I need to own them. I do enjoy re-reading so I like having them at the ready, even if I might never pick them up again. My childhood was spent rereading all kinds of books, and giving books away just makes me shudder. Though, honestly, I probably would if they were books I don’t care much for. I’ve never been in that tricky situation before though. (Luck has been on my side. Luck and a great deal of cynicism and suspicion that goes into my physical book buying.)
Isa

4 thoughts on “Thoughtful Thursday • What do you do with the books that you have read?

  1. I totally agree with you- I love to own my favorite books even if I’ll never read them. It’s nice at least to point them out to people on my bookshelf and recommend them! (Though I am very particular about lending my books, it’s only if I really trust the person I’m lending them to). But I haven’t been as lucky as you and I have bought a few books I didn’t end up loving, so in that case I do like to give them away (never throw them out!!) The idea of turning them into an arts and crafts project never occurred to me – that might be fun!

  2. I have a sentimental attachment to all my books! Reading helped me through my recovery , so to me they’re like trophies or token/coins you get, at like, AA. They all have a safe place in my bookcase, which my father-in-law is now building me a new one for all the books I’ve been accumulating in the past 3 years :) If I do happen to have any books I know I won’t read or re-read, I’ll trade them in or donate them to my local library :)
    Great topic! Thanks for sharing your thoughts!
    Michelle ~ Book Hangovers Blabs Books

  3. I completely agree, I love to own books that I loved and will definitely reread. But I am a serious book hoarder, and own over 500 books. I own about 200 that I haven’t even managed to read, many of which I will never read and yet I still own them. It is a serious problem lol, I need to organise and get rid of some soon. Here’s my Thoughtful Thursday post.

  4. Pingback: What’s Up Buttercup • April Edition | Words in a Teacup

Leave a Comment

