Pick-For-Me • April

Pick For Me

Pick-For-Me is a monthly feature where each of us picks two books for the other to read. Click here for details.


March Thoughts

March Picks

Isa: I got The Alchemyst by Michael Scott and The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd. Sadly The Alchemyst was rather hit or miss for me — in fact, it was mostly miss. Disappointing, really, because I was rather excited for it. However, The Madman’s Daughter made up for it with its creep factor and I really enjoyed that one.

Ren: I got The Diviners by Libba Bray and Pantomime by Laura Lam. I enjoyed both books, Pantomime in particular was very different from what I expected and I’m looking forward to the sequel. On the other hand The Diviners had too many unrelated subplots and that detracted from my enjoyment of the story.

Goodreads Links:
The AlchemystThe Madman’s DaughterThe DivinersPantomime


April Picks

Ren for Isa

Strands of Bronze and Gold by Jane Nickerson The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross

On Goodreads:
Strands of Bronze and GoldThe Girl in the Steel Corset

Ren: I love fairytale retellings but I haven’t read any Bluebeard retelling yet, so I’m curious about Strands of Bronze and Gold. I’ve read different opinions about The Girl in the Steel Corset, some people loved it and some people loathed it, so I want to hear what Isa has to say. I hope she’ll like it because she wanted to read steampunk books, and also the book has a pretty cover and she’s partial to pretty covers.

Isa for Ren

Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder The Assassin's Curse by Cassandra Rose Clarke

On Goodreads:
Poison StudyThe Assassin’s Curse

Isa: I always have a hard time picking books for myself and tend to look at what my friends have read. Both of these books are on my own TBR pile, but I just haven’t decided yet if I really want to check them out. Thus Ren must read them! She’s incredibly fast with her reading (I’m pretty sure she reads five times as much as I do, if not more), so I can get a quick verdict on these books. I’m very selfish that way. But also! The Assassin’s Curse promises pirates and I know Ren likes pirates.


Are you also doing the pick-for-me challenge with a friend or over at Amy’s LJ community? What do you think of our picks this month? Let us know in the comments!
Isa and Ren

2 thoughts on “Pick-For-Me • April

  1. Pingback: What’s Up Buttercup • April Edition | Words in a Teacup

Leave a Comment

