Thoughtful Thursday • How do you read series?

Thoughtful Thursday

Thoughtful Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Reading Is Fun Again. This week:

 

How do you read series?

Do you read each book as it comes out? Do you wait for a few books to come out in a series before starting it? Do you wait until the entire series is out and marathon it? Do you reread all of the books that are currently out before you read the next one?

I don’t really care whether or not all the books are out yet. I don’t know how other people actually do it, waiting until a series is finished before reading it. You might have to wait for years! What if three years down the line you do read it and it turns out you don’t like it that much and don’t read the rest of the series? Then you’ve waited three years for something you could’ve known next week. But you know, to each their own. ;) I don’t have the patience to wait forever and if anything, unfinished series are a good thing for me because it means that I have something to look forward to. Even if the impatience until then might kill me.

As for re-reading it depends on where I am in my Goodreads Reading Challenge — there’s no time to re-read books if I’m 17 books behind and want to win that thing. I may not compete with anyone else, but I sure am competing with myself and heaven knows, I want to win that stupid challenge. (I shall be forever annoyed that a. you cannot truly mark books as re-read on GR and b. if you do re-read a book and give it the current reading date to make it count for your challenge, it will take it out of the previous challenge it was counted for. It’s so frustrating.)

Oops, that was a tangent. Anyhow, I only re-read if I really really like the series — I did it with Gail Carriger’s Parasol Protectorate because I had simply forgotten most of it, even my beloved Vieve. I’ll definitely do it for Garth Nix’s Clariel when it comes out because I just love the books (especially Lirael), but in general ~ain’t nobody got time for that~ ya feel? For all the upcoming sequels in a series that I won’t re-read I usually run off to wikipedia to refresh my memory. 

Isa

5 thoughts on “Thoughtful Thursday • How do you read series?

  1. I don’t really worry too much about catching up to series, the ones I really want I’ll read eventually but it doesn’t bother me too much if I don’t catch up ASAP. I do reread the series before starting the newest addition to the series to refresh my memory.

  2. Well said, Isa! I’ve also found that if I read several books from the same series in a row I’ll end up getting tired of the characters, so it’s much better for me to read each book as it comes out.

  3. If I like a series, I will read each book as it comes out. However, I often start a series late – not because I want to but because I just didn’t have the time. When I do, I try to catch up quickly, but again allowing time between books so I don’t burn out on the characters.

    The one exception to this was Harry Potter. I saw the movies and I’d read the first book, but I didn’t read that series until the date for the final book was announced. I’d heard enough from my friends complaining about the cliffhanger endings and having to wait years for the next book, so I read one a month and only had to wait two weeks to find out what happened in the final book. I was much happier that way.

  4. Pingback: What’s Up Buttercup • April Edition | Words in a Teacup

Leave a Comment

