Pick-for-Me • March

Pick For Me



What is the Pick-For-Me book club?

Like all book lovers, we both have books sitting around that we’ve been “meaning to read” for years, and our TBR lists are so long that we have no idea what to read next. A couple of months ago Amy (amyofaquitaine on LiveJournal) came up with an idea: a book club where people are paired up and pick two books for their buddy to read during the month. It’s all very relaxed, finishing the books is not mandatory (real life happens, or you might find out that one book is just too awful) and there’s a sharing post at the end of the month where you can talk about what you read.

For those interested, March sign-ups went up a while ago at pick-for-me and will stay open until March 1st. Unfortunately the community is for LJ users only, but that shouldn’t deter you from doing your own pick-for-me’s with a partner of your choice, like we did. If you’re not on LJ but still want to get a little idea of it, we’ve screencapped what this month’s sign-up comment looks like.

febthoughts

February Picks

Isa: I got Boneshaker by Cherie Priest and The Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. I’m afraid Boneshaker wasn’t quite for me due to a multitude of reasons, but it was an interesting read nonetheless. I didn’t get around to reading Hound because I am a lazy lazy person.

Ren: I got Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo and The Death of Bees by Lisa O’Donnel. I really liked Shadow and Bone (thank you for picking it, Isa!) but didn’t get around to reading the other book yet.

Goodreads Links:
The Hound of the BaskervillesBoneshakerShadow and BoneThe Death of Bees


March Picks

Ren for Isa

The Madman's Daughter by Megan Shepherd The Alchemyst by Michael Scott

On Goodreads:
The Madman’s DaughterThe Alchemyst

Ren: It looks like this month the theme is “books neither of us has read”. Not really, I just made that up. I picked The Madman’s Daughter because I’ve seen it around a lot and people seem to either love it or hate it, so I want Isa’s opinion because she has good taste. I don’t know much about The Alchemyst aside from the backcover blurb, but I’m interested in alchemy and it’s not something that comes up often in books. I hope they’re better than February’s picks!


Isa for Ren

Pantomime by Laura Lam The Diviners by Libba Bray

On Goodreads:
PantomimeThe Diviners

Isa: Yes. Well. I’m gonna be honest and say that I chose both books solely based on their covers. I’m extremely shallow that way (and many other ways). To be fair, though, I started The Diviners a while ago and then forgot all about it and I really do want Ren’s opinion on it to see if maybe I should pick it up again.



Are you also doing the pick-for-me challenge with a friend or over at Amy’s LJ community? What do you think of our picks this month? Let us know in the comments!
Isa and Ren

2 thoughts on “Pick-for-Me • March

  1. Pingback: [Ren] Pantomime (Pantomime #1) by Laura Lam | Words in a Teacup
  2. Pingback: [Isa] The Madman’s Daughter (The Madman’s Daughter #1) by Megan Shepherd | Words in a Teacup

Leave a Comment

