[Ren] The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

The Scorpio Races by Maggie StiefvaterAvengers vs X-Men badgeTitle: The Scorpio Races
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Published: October 18, 2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 teacups

I liked this. It was a solid book too; it started interesting (aside from a couple of wtf moments because once again I hadn’t been paying attention and didn’t know about the paranormal elements) and finished strong, with the kind of last chapters that made me unable to put it down because I just had to know what happened.

I really loved the protagonist, which is something that I never expected from a YA book narrated in first person by a seventeen-year-old girl. Puck Connelly is adorable, okay? She’s so flawed and so human and I could really empathise with her, especially when she didn’t know what she was doing because she still felt like a child in the body of an adult. It was harder to read Sean’s chapters, mostly because I didn’t get his motivations. I liked Sean, but everyone (himself included) seemed to think way too highly of him.

If I loved horses, I would have probably given this 5 stars. As it is, it was a good book, though I could have done without the romance. It wasn’t a big part of the book, but it was still there, because of some unwritten rule about having the female character hook up with the male character in every YA book.


Ren

One thought on “[Ren] The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday • Books I’ve Read So Far This Year | Words in a Teacup

Leave a Comment

